Long days and longer nights

in #parenting6 years ago

Last night I had a bit of a reaction to something and I was in a bit of pain. Daddy stayed by me until abut 4 am even though he is trying to get his sleeping rhythm into a more normal routine. He chose to have me though so I guess it is his fault he had to be awake too. I am glad I am not a parent, children are pretty annoying.

Although, adults are pretty annoying too. I am lucky though because Mummy and Daddy are "alright" as far as adults go and they are pretty decent at taking care of me. Tonight, Daddy told me something that I never knew before. We were in our 'talking about dinosaurs / tickle / jumping' place (Mummy and Daddy's bed) and I was laying on his arm and he said that when I was a little baby and had an upset stomach, he would hold me and rock while singing 'Summertime' over and over again until I fell asleep and then he would hum it for hours more so I would stay asleep. He still sings it every time it is his turn to put me to sleep. I hear him hum it often.

It made me cry.

Not because of the story he told but I thought I had to go to bed. After he explained I didn't have to go, I was okay and we just laid and talked some more. It is good to have someone to talk to and Daddy and I seem to have a lot to say to each other. It is interesting when we are walking around together because we are constantly in discussion about so many different things. Like today, I was explaining to Daddy were all the leaves on the ground came from and how there are a lot more today than yesterday. I think he already knew but, he listened to me talk about the trees and the wind. It was very windy today.

After that, he pushed me on the swing and I wanted to go higher and high and higher. I don't think I have ever gone so high before and it was awesome. I also made him ride the spring horse and he got on it side-saddle like an 1850s woman and I told him to "ride it properly". Which he did. What is pretty cool with Mummy and Daddy is that if I call them out on being lazy, they don't make excuses, they adjust themselves.

They are pretty well trained. Especially Daddy.

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

You got a 38.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

Hi @smallsteps!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.156 which ranks you at #8712 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 8715).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #350.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server