The AA's, BB's, CC's, DD's of Steem. What Type of Steemian Are You?

in #dpoll β€’ 5 years ago (edited)

The AA's, BB's, CC's, DD's of Steem. What Type of Steemian Are You?


After thinking about all the ways various people come and experience the Steem blockchain, it got me thinking. You can basically define these different types of behaviors into 4 distinct categories. And, being the alliteration-admirer that I am, I decided to group them under a simple mnemonic system.

AA_BB_CC_DD_steem.png

The AA's, BB's, CC's, and DD's:

  • AA
    • Awesome Advocate
  • BB
    • Blockchain Buddy
  • CC
    • Content Creator
  • DD
    • *Dapp Developer

AA: Awesome Advocate

This type of Steemian is constantly spreading awareness about Steem and the various dapps that exist on it. They take to Twitter, Reddit, Hacker News, their Mom & Dad, Brothers & Sisters, even their pets, and spread the word.

They don't spam, per say, but they are relentless when it comes to advertising this great platform. These are our marketing department. Our grassroots movement marketers!

BB: Blockchain Buddy

These are the people who reside more on chain then off. So, while they don't spread the word so much on outside sources, they do often help out those who have migrated here from said sources.

They are quick to lend a helping hand to anyone who needs it. They've been known as a go-to resource for anything you need. Before you even have time to type out "What's the best game to play right now?", they are telling you about the latest & greatest Steem dapp that you should totally play.

These people are our HR department. Our humble & readily available human resources. Volunteers making newbies feel more comfortable & welcomed.

CC: Content Creator

These are the bloggers, writers, photographers, singers, the list goes on! Anyone who creates content for other Steemians to engage & consume. These people usually don't do it for the rewards [ although they're an awesome bonus ;^) ], they create because it's what makes them happy. They create not because they should do, but because they need to.

These are our... Well, content creators. There's really not a better metaphor for them here. They provide the stuff that makes this chain & this community what it is. They make it home.

DD: Dapp Developers

Last, but hopefully not least, we got the developers. Shout-out to my fellow devs out there!

These are the ladies & gentlemen that are spending sleepless nights, and burning through pounds of coffee, to make the blockchain fun, exciting, and usefull.

Feel free to ignore the word "Dapp" in this title, no one really gives a shit what that specifically means right now. The true point of the DD Steemians is to put their programming-magic to work and make something for other Steemians. Games, frontends, tools, what have you!

These are our software department. Our friendly & caring IT department. Our code-monkeys [ who we feed plenty of bananas to πŸ’ 🍌 ].


Well, there you have it, the four types of Steemians.

I think keeping these categories in mind can help in establishing what you want to be, and what you're looking to get out of this platform.

NOTE: You can, of course, fall under multiple categories. The CC & DD group often intertwine. Same goes for AA & BB. Also, feel free to bounce from one group to the next from week to week. THIS IS 2019 DECENTRALIZED BABY, AIN'T NO ONE STOPPING YOUR MADNESS NO MORE!


What do you think? Which type of Steemian are you? Which group do you mostly fall under / see yourself as?

This is a fancy-ass interactive post, vote on it over at dpoll and leave a comment telling me all about your opinions and time on Steem. I love to read the comments from all y'all!


Take Care :^)


  • AA - Awesome Advocate

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy

  • CC - Content Creator

  • DD - Dapp Developer

  • IN TRUE DECENTRALIZED FASHION, I'M MAKING UP MY OWN GROUP! [ tell me about it in the comments! ]

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort: Β 

Voted for

  • AA - Awesome Advocate

Voted for

  • CC - Content Creator

cool! Keep it up :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • IN TRUE DECENTRALIZED FASHION, I'M MAKING UP MY OWN GROUP! [ tell me about it in the comments! ]

I read the posts and give comments and do upvoten

hmm...

Perhaps a variety of BB - Blockchain Browser? Or, CC - Content Consumer.

Or, to be different, you can be an LL - lovely lurker haha :^)

Voted for

  • AA - Awesome Advocate
  • CC - Content Creator

That's a pretty good combo there! Bring them in with advocacy, and keep them around with good content, I like the way you work ;^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah! but after having decided to create a video about this, I got to understand the question better and I got to realize that I all but a DD type of Steemian.

  1. AA: I currently promoting Steem on Twitter and participating in the Twitter exclusive 7 push ups initiative.

  2. BB: I often visit #introduceyourself and welcome new Steemians as well as introduce them to my contest. I always end up mentoring some of them and I am support many with SP delegations.

  3. CC: this is obvious, no explanation needed Lol

PS: I am doing a video series centered around some of the best or interesting polls at dPoll and this time, your poll is the featured. I will upload the video shortly.

Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

awesome! Can't wait for the video 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy
  • DD - Dapp Developer

same! I'm trying to be better at AA, and I hope over the next month or so I can strengthen my BB & DD skills :^)

Thanks for all the goodness you're doing for Steem by the way. DPoll is super nice! [ any plans to make custom poll time-lengths? Like how twitter does it? ]

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy
  • CC - Content Creator

I'm certainly more of these than I am any of the other. I've not gone evangelizing for STEEM because I don't think it's ready yet (and it's not like I've got direct ties to hordes of big time investors). When it is ready, or even close to it, I can see myself being more AA.

I'm not a developer of anything dApp or otherwise, no matter how its defined.

I am first and foremost a content creator, except I do it for the rewards, along with the sheer joy of creating and sharing. I also do it for the engagement, which is usually more lacking than the vote count.

i don't think I'm as big a BB as others, not by a longshot, but I do end up helping out here and there, mainly giving information about STEEM inner workings and talking about posts others have made on different topics. Occasionally, there's an invitation of some kind.

I think you did a pretty good job of carving us of into positive categories, and avoiding the negative. :)

Also, we need to work on @xplosive's alliteration. How about the II invisible/Ignored? :) Allows for two possibilities in one. :)

haha, I like the II idea :^)
As for the negative group, there's really only one:

  • SS
    • Stupid Shitposters

or, maybe:

  • TT
    -Troubled Tyrants

...one more?:

  • KK
    • Kranky Kiddies

lol. Also, I get your hesitation about advocating for Steem in its current state. I know that when I do, I'm limiting the persons exposure to only certain Dapps & communities that I think can seem appealing.
I'd probably never plop a newbie down in front of SteemIt, that would have them running to the hills!

Thanks for the response, I appreciated reading through your post :^)

Voted for

  • AA - Awesome Advocate

That's awesome ;^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy

thanks for being a buddy! :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • CC - Content Creator

Nice! Your henna art is pretty cool, keep up the good content :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your appreciation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • CC - Content Creator

awesome! Thanks for adding to the community, and thanks for responding! :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy
  • CC - Content Creator

great combo! Thanks for being good to the Steem ecosystem! :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Β 5 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Voted for

  • CC - Content Creator
  • IN TRUE DECENTRALIZED FASHION, I'M MAKING UP MY OWN GROUP! [ tell me about it in the comments! ]

Also CC as Content Curator.
Even if nowadays my upvote is worth approximately/around (usually less than) $0.01
Another group:
TI (The Ignored).
This is probably (sadly/unfortunately) the biggest group on Steem.
No matter what I write about, what I do, almost no one cares about my posts.
Nowadays most of the upvote values on my posts are coming from free upvote bots.
I rarely receive real, human comments.

Content Curator is a good one!

And I'm with you on the unfortunately popular TI group. It's tough to get noticed really anywhere these days, but you just gotta barrel on through it I suppose.

I'm just gonna keep doing my thing & hope one day I'll open my eyes to see people watching. I hope to see you there with me buddy!

Good luck! Let me know if there's anything I can do to help, at anytime. I'm always reachable :^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • BB - Blockchain Buddy

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP