My Road to Steemfest³ - From the Blockchain to the people!

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys - long time no see! But hopefully I will see some of you in person soon!

Due to private reasons I have not been very active on the STEEM blockchain lately - especially in the english community. However, I have of course been following the actions regarding the upcoming SteemFest3 in Poland's Kraków. And of course, I will also try to be there in person.

A few weeks ago @anomadsoul startet a little freewriting campaign regarding the upcoming festival - a campaign, I now want to take part in. "Better late than never!" they say, right 😉


IMG_3629.jpg

Not a road to Kraków, but still a nice picture for #roadtosteemfest


The big question

So the biggest question for this post obviously is - "Will I make it to the SteemFest3?"

Unfortunately I can't 100% guarantee that I will have the chance to go to the whole event, since I will start to work at a new place in October and taking three weekdays of in November might be tough. However I am 99% sure that I can at least come from Friday to Sunday. So my plan is to buy a Plankton ticket (covering 70% of the 5 day event) as soon as I have the liquid STEEM to do so (I don't want to power down for the ticket). Additionally, if I should be able to attend the whole event, I will top up from Plankton Ticket to a regular one, covering 100% of the costs for the five days. I think this is a fair solution.

Even tough I am definitely not Plankton steempowerwise (what a word), the ticket price is definitely really high for myself, so I don't just want to buy a regular ticket unless I am 100% sure I can go. I also didn't take place in any ticket-giveaways for the same reason - winning a ticket and not going than would have been a dick move 🙄 As well as "only" buying a Plankton ticket when I can make the whole event - I am a 100% with @therealwolf 's point of view here.


Paying to meet strangers?!

When you tell people that you want to travel through Europe and pay a few hundred Euros just to meet a few stranges from the Internet, many people will tell you that you are crazy. And I can understand them 😅

However, I already had the luck to visit some of the characters behind STEEM-Usernames before - and I got to meet some interesting people that gave me even more interesting perspectives that way. Whether looking back at the Munich/Viennese Meetups earlier this year, my teaching experiences with the @limesoda crew, or my hiking adventures with @lichtcatchtoby - I always met people I would have never met without this platform who enriched my life in one way or another.

And if I was able to meet some great characters within the German community, the same surely is possible far beyond the borders of German. People from all over the world will be at Steemfest - and they will of course bring their stories, there cultures and there skills. All things I would love to explore! This is one of the great things about STEEM - it is not just about the blockchain, but also about the people behind it ☺️

Nice stories from people like @twinner, who were present at the previous SteemFests, add even more motivation to go to Kraków. And of course the town also doesn't look bad - I have actually never been to Poland for a longer period of time before. So there really are multiple motivations to attend this festival!


More information to come

Now that I have told you why I really would love to go there, I think it would be fair to write a few words about myself. My introduction posts is way over a year old, and a few things have obviously changed since then.

However, time is pressuring right now, so I will delay this to part two of my #roadtosteemfest freewriting.

See you soon both here and hopefully in Kraków!

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

It seems Steemit-Austria is strongly represented this time! Hope to see you in Krakow. :-)

Great to see even more Austrians go there! :)

Hey man, so cool to see that you might actually make it, that would kick ass

Yeah, would be awesome :) But I am positive!

Hope to meet you there. But one error in the post, Krakau isn't the capital of Poland.

Thank you - really embarrassing mistake 😰

Let's get a beer right there in Krakow :) the one that we missed on the camp ;-)
Nice to meet you there!

Hope it doesn't stay one ;)

I wish you all the best @theaustrianguy that you will make it there and overcome all the hastle with the tickets. Steemfest is definitely on my to do list, but I moved away from Germany and now krakow is too far away for myself. So, I still need to wait maybe until next year when everything fits together. Greetings to all Steemians!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Would be so cool and fun to meet you in Krakow again, even if its like the 4th time!

There will definitely be a fourth time :)

I hope really to meet you at the Steemfest!!!

Would be great to meet the face behind the snowman ;)

😉🤗

What a nice road!!!

Yeah, should be close to Zion National Park in the US :)

Hi @theaustrianguy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.630 which ranks you at #464 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 465).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 426 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 51.58% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @theaustrianguy!

Ha ha what you said here

When you tell people that you want to travel through Europe and pay a few hundred Euros just to meet a few stranges from the Internet, many people will tell you that you are crazy. And I can understand them

Is exactly what some of my family members have said to me 😅 but I'm excited to meet steemians in person for the first time and hear all their stories, learn from those who know more than me and generally have a laugh. Hopefully see you there theaustrianguy

P.s. I'm a fellow roadtosteemfest blogger :-)