[Movies] The Boondock Saints

in #movies4 years ago (edited)

Two Irish Catholic brothers become vigilantes and wipe out Boston's criminal underworld in the name of God.
- IMDb

This is one of those movies that caught me by surprise. The Boondock Saints was released in 1999 before Normal Reedus became a living legend in The Walking Dead.

image.png

Two religious brothers are fed up with organized crime in Boston and decide to handle it on their own. Not being particularly skilled, what follows is sloppy and chaotic vigilante justice.

The movie follows Connor & Murphy MacManus as they dish out their own justice. While the movie is described as an Action, Crime, and Thriller, some scenes had me laughing my ass off.

The brothers accidentally kill mafia thugs who try to pressure a local establishment they frequent. Being upstanding Christian citizens, they turn themselves in and are quickly released without charges. The MacManus brothers feel this is a sign from God and decide to seek out organized crime members and take them out.

image.png

This movie is filled with action and violence and no effort was made to tone down these scenes. The movie is rated R and it earns this rating in spades. This movie was built on grit and blood.

I found myself quickly becoming sympathetic and rooting for the MacManus brothers as they delivered justice in a poetic style.

image.png

William Dafoe plays a famous FBI Special Agent called in to investigate the string of murders. William Dafoe has given performances that leave you in awe, but this one is like no other. William Dafoe plays a gay FBI agent with an uncanny awareness of crime scene investigation. Interestingly, both Robert De Niro and Kevin Spacey were considered for this role. I can't imagine anyone else playing the role of Special Agent Smecker.

While the story behind this movie is fantastic, what really makes the movie shine is the raw grit in the shoot out scenes. Make no mistake, there is a lot of shoot out scenes in this 1-hour and 48-minute movie.

image.png

While the movie has a 7.8/10 score on IMDb, it has a measly 22% on Rotten Tomatoes.

A juvenile, ugly movie that represents the worst tendencies of directors channeling Tarantino.
- Rotten Tomatoes

While I usually put more stock in Rotten Tomatoes rating than IMDb, they got this one wrong. If I was going to rate it myself, I would put it right around the 7.8 IMDb score given.

Billy Connolly makes an epic appearance in the last half of the movie and kills it playing the role of a legendary hitman sentenced to life in prison. After the MacManus brothers take out key players in the local Mafia, they call in Ii Duce to take them out. Ii Duce has never failed to take out his mark.

image.png

The Boondock Saints is a light-hearted action movie based on two antiheroes that you can't help but root for. This movie will keep you on your toes all the way up to the ending credits.

All images are from IMBd unless sourced

Sort:  

My friends and I still quote this movie regularly....."where's this guy going? F*cking Nowhere!" Dafoe was awesome in this.

Loading...
Loading...

Hi,
welcome to TripleA and thanks using the tag aaa and for your review.

If you had the chance to have a look at https://www.triplea.reviews/ , which is the platform for TripleA based on the Steem blockchain, you may see that the order of data is different from what you normally see at Steemit.

To be able to achieve it, we need a few more information at the end of your review, which is the moviedb link and your rating.

Example

Leaving also a short introduction to our community guideline and wish you a soft landing at TripleA.

One of the important part is, that we normally curate reviews that have the required DB link and critic.

Wish you a lot of fun~.

Loading...
Loading...

Guess I'll have a coke, then.
So many classic lines. The bartender mixing up his proverbs; gold.

Loading...

This is a great movie, however, the sequel sucks

yeah the sequel was nothing like the original.

There's never been a sequel that lived up to the first one.. Clerks has come closest imo

The Empire Strikes Back is widely considered the best Star Wars movie and is a sequel.

The Dark Knight is by far my favorite Batman movie and is also a sequel.

I did like The Dark Knight.. but not as good as the first one.. I didn't see Empire..

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

When you mentioned that this one kinda took you by surprise, I had the same experience. When I first watched it I was kinda just expecting an “ok” action film but it developed into a cult classic for me.

I love being surprised by a film...basically going in with 0 expectations and then being either blown away or at least really enjoying it. I had the sane experience with District 9 and Zombieland. 2 movies I saw on video much after release...wasn’t expecting much...and I loved both.

Posted using Partiko iOS

District 9 looks like an awful B roll film, but actually is pretty good. Did you know they are working on a sequel to finish the story of Wikus and Christopher? They are tied up on other projects, but it is planned.

I actually haven't seen Zombieland but I know I really do.

Yeah it just didn’t sell me initially when I saw the trailers. I’ll admit I was completely wrong. It was a really unique and different film and if that happens, I will be there opening night to see the sequel.

Zombieland was a blast. Definitely check it out one day.

Another film that I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t initially give a chance is one that I 100% fell in love with when I watched it at home one day. John Wick. When I initially saw the trailer I thought it looked like a fun action film but nothing I needed to see in theaters. When I finally watched it on Netflix or wherever I saw it, I regretted that decision and have since supported seeing the sequels in theaters multiple times each. Such a fun franchise that doesn’t take itself too seriously while being absolutely kick ass in the action and choreography.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Zombieland is on Netflix, will try to check it out this weekend.

Do a review afterwards!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have you seen Double Tap yet?

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

No not yet. I have the AMC A-List which allows me to see 3 films a week. I usually am a total loser and max it out weekly but currently am caring for one of my pups who needs extra care. Haven’t been to a movie in 2 months so I’m missing lots of stuff currently. Weak!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice review.

This movie is very good and the cast ensures that the script goes deeper and deeper into the making of the story.


I would like to take this comment to have the opportunity to present you a movie contest that I created (and I already got TripleA project support, which offered visibility and great awards): https://steemit.com/contest/@wiseagent/for-your-consideration-01-favorite-directors-or-a-movie-contest-sponsored-by-me-and-the-triplea-project .

Could you help in any way? Resteem, Upvote... My intention is is to let more users know about the contest and accumulate more earnings (to suddenly increase the final prize).

Thanks in advance, @themarkymark!

Loading...

I'm am going to have to watch that one again. It's been a dog's age since I saw that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

One of the best movies ever made!
Wasn't there talking about a third one?

Loading...

I've still not seen this, it's never available on streaming - I will make a concerted effort to see it, Annabelle keeps telling how cool it is.

Loading...

Woooow. Your post is so cool! Can you vote for me in my last post? The venezuelan economic social class...

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

One scene I enjoy watching so much from the movie is when William Dafoe dressed up as a hooker and seduced one of the bad guys in the movie 

Loading...

Crazy to think I was like five years old when this movie came out.

I hope yall know you are supporting a pedophile!

Not to worry, I don't see anyone supporting you.

Loading...
Loading...

I officially condemn this user and ask anyone and everyone to downvote this jackass!!!!

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...