There's no excuse for not engaging

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I couldn't be happier today.
Our prayers and wishes have finally been heard by our main team of developers ( @blocktrades and other witnesses) and the Hardfork 25 has arrived smoothly without causing any havoc, at least for now.
One of the best things that this update has brought us is the cancellation of the famous "Convergent Linear Rewarding Curve" that mainly benefited only the posts that obtained large rewards by default and totally penalized the reward in comments and posts from authors "typically" Not valuable for the audience, although these articles and comments were, in some cases, more valuable in content than many of the best posts we see on the "trending" Page.
Retrieving a screenshot of @penguinpablo's utility on the rewarding curve, something similar to the following is what we had a couple of days ago:

image.png

What you have in the past is that upvoting on a post rewarded below a certain threshold, you risked to lose almost -15% on curation rewards while if you did on a post already earning 10$, your upvote simply would get till +20% .

Today, if you go to same page you will see the same chart but with a change that I would say is excellent:

image.png

We all have an equal chance to be upvoted, in any comment or post because there is no incentive at stake. You will get the same amount of curation regardless of whether you upvote on a comment or post, well rewarded or not.

The message for me is clear...

FORGET ABOUT MAXIMIZING YOUR UPVOTES BY "PLAYING" WITH THE UPVOTING TIME AND REWARDED AUTHOR, GO AND ENGAGE, USE YOUR UPVOTES AS YOU PREFER AND DON'T ABUSE

HIVE is now a much better place and it will be even better in the future.

@toofasteddie

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Well, we’ll see how that plays out. I’m all here all day everyday anyway so increased engagement will lead to increased rewards and increased rewards will lead to faster growth which is what I need I right now. Like I said, we’ll see how it goes

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It will go better for sure

Many of us will do like we always did. The difference is, perhaps, for those who arent here all day long. Maybe they will alter things.

We will see how things unfold.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Finally, curation makes sense. I don't why that curation curve was a reality from the start.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

manipulators leading us

I was not a not a big fan of that window. It was 30 mins, then 15, and then 5.. now it's gone... good riddance.

The window was a pain in the rear. It is good that it was removed. It was so nice voting on tribes since there was no window there.

But it did affect any Hive behind the vote. Now it is nowhere to be seen.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I spoke too soon. Curation is not working properly for pre-fork rewards coming in from today. Have a look a yours and you will see. I am getting barely anything.

It's a temporary effect on pre-HF posts. The change in voting weight means that votes before the HF carry less weight for curation reward distribution. Here's a post with more details: https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@acidyo/psa-curation-rewards-post-hardfork-and-how-you-can-help-stabilize-them

Thanks... reading.

Not only the window was painful but also the rewarding curve!

Yes, lets see if the comments go up. The donkey and carrot method usually works.

ahhahha! yes indeed

Well said. That old system never worked as it meant that people tried to engineer their voting timings.

I personally couldn't be bothered and voted whenever, so at least I (and others) shouldn't be penalised now...

Now things are easier for anyone, this is one step beyond in this blockchain

Less need to play games and try to manipulate things.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hope it brings more engagement. I vote up comments as I want more of them. There may be issues with curation rewards right now as some seem very low.

!PIZZA

If the dust level is still in place, that will be a problem. I didnt see anywhere if it was addressed or not.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I can give rewards above dust level. The peakd slider is showing higher amounts now.

There do seem to be issues with curation rewards on some previous posts. Will have to see if that's just temporary.

!ENGAGE 10

Connect

Trade


@toofasteddie! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

A bit of sanity where there is so much speculation.
Thank you for the good news!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is a welcome change, but like others have mentioned, the dust threshold is critical for comments voting. My 100% upvote is getting close to it, but it's still below. So I feel voting comments is a waste for both the commenters and me, as nobody will get rewards. Unless I missed something, I haven't seen any mention of its removal in the HF25 notes.

Anyway, here my upvote to you

Is the dust threshold still in place? I guess it is which could affect some of the voting on comments.

That said, it is good that things did change and people have a lot more opportunity. The ecosystem took a step forward in my opinion (yours also it seems) with this hard fork.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Not sure if the DUST threshold is removed, frankly... @blocktrades to confirm maybe?

Great post, i reward you with a slice of !PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Connect

Trade


@toofasteddie! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @cooperclub.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/20)

Yay! 😁

How are you?

I am very well, thank you, very busy at work - sometimes three or four days pass before I have a chance to visit Hive, but everything is okay. I hope you and your family are all very well.

Yep, everything fine for the moment, taking holidays in a few weeks!

I hope to brings increased engagement and excitement about the platform

It will, for sure