Secret betrayal

in #a7 years ago

I got admission into the University to study pharmacy.
I had to stay off camp cos I wasn't used to saying with lots of people in the same room...
Though, the cost of a room off campus is so expensive, I needed someone who I can share with, so we would split the rent.

I found someone, Vera.

Vera is a very nice girl, same shape as me and same height.
I found out that we clicked immediately and became so close as months went by.

Vera became my very best friend.
My friends are her friends, my enemies are her enemies.
She hates seeing me hurt.
Infact, she was like a sister I never had...

Months got by, and we had good neighbours who we spend some time with after lectures.
Some days, we would gist about school, our love lives, family etc
Everyone showed off their boyfriend's except me.

Well, I wasn't ready to be in any relationship though. So what's my own na....

Oh, did I forget to tell you my name? I'm Fifi.

One day, Vera and I were so bored and we had to stroll somewhere to help our self out of boredom.
On our way back, a car, stopped beside us and offered us a lift.
Well, we agreed and entered.

The guy was so cute! He introduced himself as Desmond.
Desmond asked for our names, we told him.
I noticed he was more interested in Vera than I.

He asked for Vera's number which she gave him and he promised to call her the next day which she was ok with...
Then he stopped us in front of our logde and drove off.

Oh, did I tell you that people loved /loves Vera?
Sometimes people just see her and Favour her with either cash or gifts.

I keep asking what Vera did to get this kind of likeness..

Sometimes, I withdraw from her. She outshines me when I'm with her. So I try to stay away from her so I would shine too..

Did I tell you about her social media handle? On Facebook, Vera has thousands of followers...
On twitter, same
On instagram same too...
But she is not a celebrity.
Vera is from a poor home. Her dad is a retired civil servant, while her mum is a business woman......

Hian, i wonder what she posts that's gives her this attention.... I asked myself.
I had to start sending request to all her friends which she wasn't against.
Every passing day, her followers increase.

But yet, I was just there. No one looked my side like they do to hers.

One good day, I wanted to know how Vera met her boyfriend and know everything about him.
She says her boyfriend's name is Collins..

How did you meet Collins? I asked...

How did you meet Collins? I asked Vera.
Vera smiled. She looked at me, and laughed soo hard.
I was dumbfounded....
Why are you laughing like a witch na... I asked.

She said, nothing, that I would be surprised how she met her boyfriend and I'll be more surprised that they haven't seen face to face ...

Hian! I exclaimed.

Which kian relationship be that na? As in you are in a relationship with someone for almost two years and you to haven't met? I asked shocked at what I heard...

' baby girl, yes! I haven't seen Collins. We just chat, do video calls, calls and texts.....
She replied.
I met him on Eskimi, when I finished my SSCE.. We both got chatting and along the line we exchanged contacts....
he couldn't come see me cos I was staying with my parents and I didn't have the right and privilege to travel yet.... So he told me to be patient and get admission first so that he will be free to visit and vice versa...

Collins calls every minute to hear her voice.
Her phone is always busy that I always get jealous that no guy calls me on phone to at least ask how I'm doing.

He says sweet things to her. He sends texts early in the morning and late at night..
A day without Vera getting Collins calls or text messages was like heaven was against her.

When she wakes up in the morning, she gets to read lovely messages from Collins. She became so used to him that she couldn't wait to see him.
Collins runs his father's company according to what Vera said.
His dad travelled for medical checkup as he was diagnosed with Hypertension some years back. So all the family responsibilities lies on Collins that's why he hasn't come to see his girlfriend.
He is waiting for the dad to come back to Nigeria then he will be opportune to travel down to Enugu from Lagos to see her.

Collins takes ' care of Vera.
She doesn't lack anything.. He sends her gifts, recharge cards, money.......

After some months, Collins decided to come see Vera.
She was so excited..
She imagined how she would react when she sees him after all these years of blind dating..
She couldn't wait to Kiss those lips she sees on his profile pix..
She verbalized how she imagines how he will cuddle her in his arms and say those sweet words he sends as text messages in the early hours of the day and late at night...

'that means you will have sex with him on your first night? I asked Vera.

'As the spirit leads.... She replied with a grin.

Hmmmm! I exclaimed! Don't oo! You must not sleep with him na!
Show him you are well brought up.
You know all these guys remain sweet until they must have come in between your legs, then you will see how the sweetness will become bitter.
Babes, shine your eye ooo!
I warned her pulling my own ears..

'shebi? She replied.
I don't want him to see me as cheap.
I just pray he won't ask for sex...... Cos i don't want to appear cheap to him. Vera said.

It was already Friday..
The day has come for Vera to meet her online boyfriend.
She was nervous.
She made sure her hair was in order.
She already has a hotel in mind where Collins would lodge. She didn't plan on staying with him in the hotel.

Lots of things went through her mind.
She couldn't control herself.
She has been visiting the toilet cos of anxiety.

Then her phone rang, it was Collins....
He told her he was closeby and that she should get prepared to see him.

Her heart skipped into her stomach.
She's the shy type though so I understand her fears.

When he called that he was in front of her logde, she took me along to come meet her boyfriend....

To be continued......interested persons should comment if I shud cont or not. .....good morning family.....

We got close to Collins car, we were smiling.
Wow, he is even more cute in reality than his pictures!
His lips are.... OmG... I started falling for Collins in my heart...
I wished he was mine.

Vera greeted him and gave him a peck on his cheeks.

'here's my friend, Fifi, Vera said to Collins holding my hands and thighting them.
She does that when ever she is shy and talking to someone.

'Hi Fifi, you have a cute smile..... Collins said to me.

Wow! I felt butterflies in my tummy when he said that to me.

'really? Thanks Collins. I replied smiling sheepishly....
Vera entered into the car and Collins wanted to take us out. He insisted I join them, which I did without an eye contact with my friend to know if she is against it or not...
Well, I didn't care. After all he is not yet her husband, i chuckled.

We went to the movies.... All through our outing, Collins was all over Vera.
They didn't even care if I was there..
They kiss passionately in my presence without respect.
I got so angry with Vera.
She should have little respect for me na..... I thought.

Some hours later, it was already getting dark, so I had to leave The two love birds to eat up themselves..... Since they can't wait for when they get to the hotel room..

Was I being jealous? Hell no...... I can't be jealous na..... I said to myself..

'Baby girl, I have to leave now........ Make i allow una enjoy una self wella.... I held Vera's hand smiling....
Collins, pls take good care of my friend ooo........

Vera wasn't happy that I wanted to leave but she needed the privacy with her guy though....

I returned to my logde and imagined what will happen at the hotel with those two..
I got so angry with myself. I looked at the mirror.... I am beautiful na! I said to myself.
Why can't I get a good looking guy like Collins?
The ones that see me on the road and start doing all those animal noise all in the need of getting my attention are always keke drivers, taxi drivers, or small boys who don't have respect for their elders.
See, I dress well, speak well and intelligent too! So what exactly is wrong with me??

I hated myself and cried myself to sleep......

The next day, I got a call from Vera.. Her voice was shaky. I became scared.

'what's the problem baby girl, I asked..

'I'll gist you when I get back.. Its a long story she replied.

Ok, just calm down..... See you soon.... I dropped the call.

I took my bath,had my breakfast, did my laundry, washed Veras cloths too, cleaned our shoes then I decided to go to a close by supermarket and pick some of my toiletries...

At the door of the supermarket was Desmond carrying stuffs he just bought from the supermarket.
Well, he didn't recognise me but I did..

'Hello Desmond, you remember me?? I asked smiling....

'eehm, I'm so sorry, pls remind me... Desmond said smiling trying to get my face.

Hmmm, Lemme help you first and drop your groceries in your car then I'll remind you who I am.. I said as I reached out to help with what he was carrying....

'awww, that's so nice of you, Desmond said.

We got to the car, he opened the booth of the car and we dropped the stuffs...

Then I asked him when last he heard from Vera.

'Ooooooooh he exclaimed.. You are Vera's friend! Remind me your name again.... He said

'Fifi.....
'Yes! Fifi! He clapped his hands like he made an effort trying to remember my name..

'How is school and everything?

'School is fine, we bless God.

'and you? I asked.

'well, we bless God too. Desmond said smiling.
'you look so radiant, so stunning...... I... I don't know what to say, effused Desmond.....

' awww I'm blushing........ Thanks Desmond.

Suddenly, we heard a Lady calling Desmond from behind.

'I have to go now, my madam need me....... Desmond said as he left immediately.

Madam kwa?? I pondered......
Hian! Let it not be what I'm thinking ooo......

I entered the supermarket to pick my toiletrie........don't be too hasten, brb with d next episode to make ur evening feel better.....good afternoon kopas

I entered the supermarket...after picking my stuffs, i went to the female attendant and asked her about Desmond.... As they say, curiosity killed the cat...... She told me that Desmond is a graduate but became a driver for a very rich family as there are no job opportunities coming forth yet...

Hian! Ok..... I thanked her for the info and left.

When I got to the lodge, Vera was already back.... Still on her shoes.......
She lay down and was crying.

'haaaa, you are back already?I dropped my stuffs and went straight to Veras bed..... How did it go? What happened na? Why are you in this mood?
I asked....

Vera sat up, meeting my gaze, she have a deep sigh and wiped her tears....
'when we got to the hotel, Collins and I kissed so passionately for almost twenty minutes, then he proceeded in making love to me.... Which I declined....

'ok, so...........? I asked.

' I regret why I declined.... Collins Is a very nice guy....
He Is hurt at my actions.... But I'm just scared!
Scared of STDs, scared of pregnancy..... Etc....

I then suggested we go for test first, before we do anything.... Vera said.....

'Why is he hurt na? Abegi, you did the right thing jare....
Na wa o for guys..... I said patting her at her shoulder....

'I'm surprised Collins left without talking to me.... Vera said.
'early this morning, he just started putting his things in order and dropped some money for me,.....
I refused collecting the money... I'm not a prostitute, and after all he didn't do anything to me..... Vera continued...

'as in you left the money there for him? I asked in amazement.

'Yea, and he collected it..... She said.....
'then he told me he is leaving, that when I freshen up, I can leave too.... That was all he said to me.... Vera cried..

'hmmmm, calm down baby girl.... That guy ain't real! He is a fuck boy! Very stupid boy I raged!
'calm down you hear.....

But right in my mind, I was so happy..... At least make i rest from all these Collins noise here and there.... Haba.... I giggled.

'ehe , by the way, guess who I saw at the supermarket today...... I turned to Vera smiling sheepishly...

'Who? Vera asked quietly.

'Desmond.. I chuckled....

'oh really? That's nice... How's he doing na? Can't remember when last I picked his call sef... .. Vera said.... I forgot to tell you sef, he asked me out and gave me time to think about it.... But i told him I have a boyfriend yet he won't give up.
'really, don't agree ooo.... I replied Vera.

'Why? She asked in curiosity.

'Because he is a driver! Desmond is a driver to a rich family..... Though he is a graduate but Nne, he doesn't have money na.....
We need to be upgrading and not denoting ourselves....... I said.....

I gisted Vera everything, and immediately she deleted Desmond's number from her phone.....

Vera said Collins hasn't called her to at least tell her he arrived safely and he isn't picking her calls either...
It broke her down. She wasn't that lively again...
Is he just wanted to hear Collins voice.

Then her phone rang...... She rushed to pick without looking at the number......she wished it was Collins maybe he used someone else's line as the number wasn't saved..

It was Desmond....
Desmond thanked God that she picked his call today as he has been calling her since morning and she didn't pick..
Probably that was when she was still in the hotel....

My friend broke down. She kept dialing Collins number, yet he had refused to pick....

After some days, I was tempted to steal Collins number from her phone and try my luck.
I succeeded and at first I lied to him about being an old friend of his..
I immediately changed my whatsapp profile pix so he won't know I'm the one..

That was how my story with Collins began..

I started chatting with Collins... Even though he didn't know I was the one..
I took it step by step....

We graduated into calling each other.... I never saved his phone number for fear of getting caught by Vera....

Yet, Collins haven't yet started calling Vera nor picking her calls.
She had to move on.
The heart break was so much on her... It affected her relationship with people her posts on Facebook etc...
But how do I care? It's my turn to play my card well....

Months later, Desmond was still asking Vera out. She decided to give him a chance., just to use him and pass time... Not that she would be serious with him though.
She told him about Collins and how everything affected her.
Desmond promised to be her best friend and someone she can always count on...
My friend got her groove back gradually..

Though Desmond wasn't buoyant yet but I swear, he takes care of her....
But yet my friend still calls Collins who still haven't picked her calls..
Though sometimes she gets ashamed knowing that she's dating a common driver.....

At some point, I asked Collins if he had a girlfriend, he said yes but that they were not in talking terms, that he wants to teach her a lesson.
I would talk in phone with Collins for long. I knew I made him happy.

Vera noticed my phone have been busy lately.. She wanted to know who my new boyfriend is.... But of course how will I tell her it's Collins.... No I can't.
I had to fake a story of how I met some guy like that....... And she believed me but still wanted my boyfriend to come so she would get to know him too.

After about some months of chatting with Collins...... He started talking about coming to see me which I objected...

I instead opted to travel to lag to see him.. Which he gladly accepted...

I lied to Vera that I was going to see my parents so she won't suspect I was going elsewhere...

Collins paid for my flight ticket to Lagos and I travelled to lag to see him.

When I got to lag, he came to pick me up at the airport...
On seeing me, he thought it was a coincidence..... But i approached him with confidence...

'Aaahaaa, are you not Fifi?? He asked looking surprised.

I smiled sheepishly and gave him a hug first..
He was still confused....

'what are you doing in lag na, he asked.
'I came to see you.... I replied.

'Hahahahah, you must be joking right? He asked. .......

'so who do you think you came to pick up here? I ain't joking na..... I said.

Collins reached for his phone inside his pocket and dialled my number, and my phone rang in front of him..
I showed him and he believed..
But he was angry I played him...

He helped with my small box and we headed for the car..

On our way, he didn't say anything to me. I started apologizing to him.
I told him that if he had known it was me he wouldn't have chatted with me....
He would have thought I'm on a mission to settle him and Vera and won't ever reply my chats or calls..

'so you ain't on a peace mission right? He asked....

I just smiled and tried to change the topic.

To be continued. Make una nor vex oooo....me too never still read d end oooo😂😂😂😂.....just comment and upvote as the next episode is coming soon

Sort:  

Congratulations @engr.ike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @engr.ike! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!