Legalising abortion

in #abortion6 years ago (edited)

There has been something bothering me for a long while now,and it's the issue of abortion legalisation in Nigeria.
Don't get me wrong, I am just wondering if legalising it would be better, because whether we want to acknowledge it or not, it happens and usually under d worst hygienic conditions.
As a doctor, I have been in situations where pregnancy is confirmed and not wanted. The lady or girl would even beg for something to be done to get rid of it.
There was this case that I found had to forget, it was during my service year in a small village in Niger state. This girl was about 16years old, she came to the hospital to complain of a left sided abdominal pain. I asked her to lie down so I can examine her, immediately she did I knew she was pregnant, because it was so obvious. So I decided to do a scan, she was about 5months gone. This was someone I asked if she missed her period at any time and she replied no.
I just turned d scanner for her to see her developing baby, that was when the pretence stopped. She started begging me to help her, that her family must not know. All I did was report her scan to her and counselled her to keep the baby. But I am very sure, she eventually had an abortion.
So, the issue has been on my mind. Won't it be better if abortion is legalised in Nigeria so standard practice can be done to prevent complications? What is your take on this? _20180226_135642.JPG
Photo credit:Google

Sort:  

I am 2000000 percent in support of legalizing abortion. Infact legalizing abortion is a cause i am passionate about. I am sick and tired of young girls dying daily because of unsafe abortions or being rendered sterile. We have poor access to sexual education beyond abstinence and equally poor access to contraceptives yet abortion is illegal. It is ridiculous and counterproductive. Irrespective of individual beliefs, peoplr will continue to fornicate!!!!!! No need pretending. Funny thing is if we have better access to sex education and contraceptives the need for abortions will drop drastically. Let us just legalize abortion abeg.

Also, it makes absolutely no sense to me to make a law against how a woman chooses to use her body, what kind of risk she wants to subject it to (cause lets face it, pregnacy and childbirth is NOT easy!!! Women die in childbirth o) and what to do with her womb!!! Why should we insist a woman must carry and birth a child we have no intention of contributing to he/she's welfare abi we think pampers na 5kobo per pack? To make it worse, our child adoption services are poor and we shame women who give up their kids for adoption .. Shey you see we are not serious at all. Dont we have enough hungry street kids? We still want to force young girls to give birth when their family will abandon them, their school will expel them, they will be hungry pregnant tired girls.. Loool .. Ofcourse we are the ones pushing them to unsafe abortions and death.

I am not pro abortion but i think contraceptives should be easily made available and the shaming should end maybe because I have seen first hand the emotional trauma an aborted baby can cause

I understand you perfectly, but remember that the first human right is the right to life. I feel that sex education and access to contraception would go a long way to reducing the need for abortion. I don't know if you watched mtvshuga (downsouth), there is access to contraception from age 12 I think because they understand the need. Hypocrisy is our major problem in Nigeria. Then education on family planning is also very important as married women also opt for abortion when the pregnancy is a 'mistake'.

Abortion legalization is like double edged sword; both ends leads to nothing but deep wound! I am still undecided as far as legalisation of abortion is concern in Nigeria but what has my own decision got to do with it? I'm sure somewhere somehow abortion has come to stay legally or legally in our everyday life. Hate it or love it!