You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Message to @haejin and @ranchorelaxo + Flag Targets

in #abuse6 years ago

That's not how it works. Do you think I have the time to search through a million posts every day for something worth upvoting? (Hint: I don't)

It's far easier to go flag 3 of @haejin's posts and still has the same effect.

Sort:  

The whales like @buildawhale and @postpromoter should do at least one flag a day, to support the fight against @haejin. That would massively help us out.

One way encourages, the other discourages. If you don’t have the time ask for curation help. If minnows see good content they’ll stay if they see flag wars they might not. It’s why Reddit isn’t worth billions but something like Instagram or Twitter is.

I actually appreciate this reply very much. I believe you. I think this demonstrates a tiny flaw in the thinking of the devs when they created the system we enjoy today, and that flaw is stated in your comment, and has enormous repercussions that include votebots, circlejerks, and selfvotes, amongst other problems.

What about being willing to accept a lower ROI for your holdings, by delegating them in moderate chunks to creators/curators you've come to believe have their heads on straight in exchange for such curation rewards as are generated by those delegations?

If you made 100 ~5k delegations (dunno if you can do that. Never looked at your wallet. It's an easy number to work with, tho) you'd retain title to the SP, so capital gains would inure to you. You'd gain curation rewards, though far less rewards than you could generate by self voting.

Most importantly, the rewards you eschewed by delegating to creators you support would be doled out to thousands of accounts that you don't have to curate personally, and encourage them to stick with Steemit--thus creating a growing market for Steem, and potentiating capital gains.

Also, a severe drawback to you would be that you wouldn't be seen as such a lightning rod. You wouldn't generate so much attention to your (mis)deeds. Since you wouldn't be selfvoting, or circlejerking, you wouldn't be able to be derided for it.

Maybe you could live with that.

Ain't tellin' you what to do. But if a gaggle of whales could resolve to accept a lower ROI in exchange for a far greater potential to moon Steem by making many moderate delegations to content creators they personally vet and select, then I don't see a downside for the platform.

I confess here that I am a recipient of such a delegation, and the delegator has neither charged any rental, nor even asked me if I wanted it. I have found that my impact on the community has multiplied, although I have made every effort to maintain exactly the same practices as I did prior to the delegation.

Many of the former delegates of @fulltimegeek, @stellabelle, and @aggroed would probably verify their performance improved as a result of the delegations they received. @abh12345 could provide stats that show those performance improvements.

I have long railed against bots voting on philosophical grounds, but economic grounds are becoming more obvious now, and I am very confident that such moderate delegations would outperform all the claimed platform benefits of votebots, while only decreasing the ROI of the delegators, not ending it.

It seems obvious that compromise between polarized positions might be necessary in this issue, and a compromise that best potentiates the platform to appreciate the price of Steem that which best effects the long term benefits to whales.

What do you think?

Remind me to read this again tomorrow when I'm sober.

But, in the meantime, how do you suggest I find 50, or 100 worthwhile Steemians to delegate to?a . That's quite a feat. Time is money. And, I value my time.

(upvoting this because some turd is going to give me a $5 flag later on)

I threw out a number. I reckon you have plenty of folks you follow, or who follow you, whose views you value. Start with one.

Go from there at your convenience. The real trick is going to be getting others to go along. Getting the YOY retention rate up is probably the most important thing that can be done to put upwards pressure on Steem in the long run, and that will require both decrease in financial manipulation and increasing the reach across the platform of rewards to new and quality users.

Here's a reminder: read this tomorrow when you're sober =p

You could just upvote all my post because haejin loves to waste his flags on me. That's guaranteed to hurt him. LOLz Less VP he has less he can SELF UPVOTE.

The whales like @buildawhale and @postpromoter should do at least one flag a day, to support the fight against @haejin. That would massively help us out.