Sort:  

Some freedoms are limited with good reason. The freedom to take out all steem power at once is one of thousands of examples.

Yes, I agree! I think that's one example of necessary limitation that cannot be bypassed.

Other freedoms are there, but if you act on them, there are consequences. To keep it to steemit, one can choose to spam or farm, for example, but he or she lives with the potential consequence of being flagged.

you misunderstand the meaning of 'freedom'.

'Limiting freedom' sounds and is really bad.

But social pressure is needed and must be applied constantly and started yesterday. Otherwise in a short while abusers will be the ones doing it.

Well, consider the inverse approach to the problem (any problem, really): incentivization of what you want to encourage, rather than trying to stop what you want to go away.

Instead of limiting how many times people can post, or what they can earn on a post, give curators financial incentive to curate more broadly, such as by increasing the curation rewards they get on each successive new account they curate in a given day.

While specific contractual relationships, such as might be undertaken for a bidbot vote for example, might not be sufficiently discouraged by this specific example, it would generally encourage curators to curate from a single account, and spread the joy more broadly across the platform, rather than just circle-jerking their friends with autovotes.

incentivization of what you want to encourage, rather than trying to stop what you want to go away.

I completely agree with this approach, unless it produces more anomalies. Unfortunately this is a fluid system, and encouragements or limitations can have side-effects as well, which sometimes can be more important than the main desired effect.

BUTT
that's what they told the tomcat
'it's for your own good'
that's what the rapist told the woman
'relax and enjoy it'.

BUTT

Yeah, it would still leave things open for multiple accounts and "abusive" comment upvoting too. Thanks @everittdmickey, I was wondering what you would think anyway. Thanks man!

you've a right to your opinion
BUT
I spend ten or twelve hours a day on Steemit.
youre telling ME that I can only do FOUR posts?
I don't like that one LITTLE bit.

looking back on YOUR record.
pot...kettle..black..much?

I completely understand where you are coming from, and your first point is valid. As for my record, it has been pretty strictly 4 or less within each 24 hour period, although there have been sometimes when it did hit five. I once thought about cutting back to only posting once per day, and there were those who were disappointed in that, so I increased the frequency after a few days.

so how come you are the number one or number two 'most posts made' with over 40K a few months ago before SteemWhales died?
(I was keeping track)
I had a mere 20K...and was trying to catch you.
(like a tricycle trying to catch a lambo)

I think comments are included in that total.

yup..I'm sure they are.
lookit THIS post...how many comments did you get?(and make)

now im crossing my mind! Let's just wait if what steemit can do about this issue..

Hope we can all have peace of mind and love!

a little bit of freedom is a dangerous thing.
people might NOT do what you want them to do
GASP..they might exercise their own initiative...
can't HAVE that.
we need RULZ...lots and lots of RULES..
and censorship...people should only say what we want them to do

limiting the number of posts is censorship

i respect you sir!

What about when devs (or anyone else) choose to hide people's posts on the Steemit platform with the flagging tool? I think that's a form of soft-censorship at the very least.

The dev in question claims that it's "editorial control" and if that's the case, basically anyone with enough Steem can muzzle anyone they want, in the name of editorial control.

I thought this platform Steemit, not steem was censorship free, but it turns out I simply fell for some very clever propaganda. The devs always say that the "blockchain" is never censored, when the topic of censorship comes up.

Meanwhile, one of the devs will soft-censor via their social media UI if they disagree with the ideological leanings of the person who made the post. I was all for Steemit for a while because it was really a great tool in helping me to exercise some creativity.

I was even encouraging YouTube personalities to ditch YouTube because of their censorship tactics to come to Steemit. I've since had to eat crow and apologize, and correct the record that Steemit does in fact engage in a form of soft-censorship, when they and their users; can bury posts, and hide comments, and redistribute potential rewards etc.. etc..

What do you think everit have you ever had a post flagged?
If so, do you think that was a form of soft-censorship?
Or am I looking at it wrong, in your opinion?

yuup...i've had posts flagged..
pissed me off.
BUT
the key here is
innovate, adapt and overcome.
Steem (or steemit) was NOT made for YOUR connivence.
(or mine)
it was made for those who ponied up MILLIONS of dollars.
if you got the money..then they'll (maybe) change it for you.
have you got a few million bucks you want to invest?

I din't think so
so..quitcha bitching.
plays the cards that are dealt.
(or go back to facebook)
SURE the game is rigged.
but if you don't play you can't win.

and I've been winning pretty big.
pick your battles..

Thanks for your feedback on the matter Everitt. I hear you, and I am going to adapt. I'm going to change my mission. Initially my mission was to come on here, write articles, and earn Steem by trying to flex my creative muscles.

Now, i'll be using the platform and my steem to expose the fact that Steemit engages in soft-censorship, while hiding behind the fact that the blockchain (something that noone cares to read in it's raw format) is uncensored.

It's very manipulative of the developers to tout the fact that the blockchain is uncensored as a diversionary tactic to not talk about the fact that Steemit itself engages in censorship or post hiding or whatever they want to call it.

If I can convince even one person to make an informed decision before joining this platform, it will save them a big headache later down the road. Ultimately, it would be nice if the devs fixed the flagging tool, but whether they do or don't at this point doesn't even matter.

All that matters to me, is that I will do my best at unraveling the myth that Steemit is some kind of bastion of free speech.

looking at your wallet

334.231 STEEM
(-300.349 STEEM

yup...youre gonna make a YUGE impact.
(poppa pepper makes that in one day)
.
not to mention his wife's account...his children's account..his goats account...oh..don't forget the sheep/guinea fowl/ ducks...
dunno if they have accounts or not..

(who can compete with cute and cuddly? He's got children and BABY LAMBS...sheesh...not fair)

ahem...

evenso
that's petty.
if you're going to be a twat
go on twitter.

(who can compete with cute and cuddly? He's got children and BABY LAMBS...sheesh...not fair)

LOL!

Loading...