You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: With GREAT POWER - comes GREAT RESPONSIBILITY: NO MORE SPAM!

in #abuse6 years ago

I may be a nobody, but I have grown to love this platform so this 'nobody' will say something. It seems to me if you want to empower quality content, you would find quality content and upvote it. Under the current model you empower the content of those that purchase your upvote. Keep in mind that content that reaches the trending/hot page is content that has the potential to give STEEM its value.

We are always at a crossroads with STEEM, because there are no rules against the selling of votes - just what the market and the platform's users will allow. It seems evident that my impression of what this platform is does not line up with what it actually is. I am saddened by this development. But I will not be silent to protect my tiny stake and my tiny reputation. It just isn't worth it to me any longer. The vote purchasing that takes place on this platform makes me question the viability of STEEM.

I am guilty of it myself--I bought a vote once. Somebody explained to me that I could do much better making connections with people than purchasing votes. I made a post about it. I spoke about how buying a vote brought a small return to me, and it lined someone else's pocket threefold. My return was tied up in a 13 week power-down, while theirs had the ability to be spent immediately. I wrote about the value in meeting people and making friends.

That is the extent of my personal vote-buying experience. If my experience is lacking and doesn't seem enough to justify me having an opinion, stop reading and flag me. I'll still love this platform for what it can be and fight what it is becoming.

I have come a long way since I joined Steemit in September. I am most proud of the connections I've made. I joined a writing group that changed my life, another group dedicated to bringing a voice to those without one, another group dedicated to helping those in need, and another group where I shared my passion for pinball once a week. I've had pinball posts viewed by hundreds of folks that didn't even know competitive pinball existed. I shared a short story that I am proud of. I learned about other countries, other cultures, and others. I donated STEEM to charities. And I recently I drank a kale shake as part of a pledge I made on this platform to get healthy. These are things I have not done on other platforms, and I am grateful for these things. In order to accomplish these things I put in work.

None of the gains I have achieved have been 'easy' and none of the time I spent feels wasted. @smartsteem I don't believe you when you say you are dedicated to empowering quality content, because I can't figure out a way to line up what your doing with your stated goal. Quality doesn't seem to be involved in this process. "Not spam" is not equal to quality. If my account tanks because I speak my mind, so be it. It is the same in life.