You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thousands of dollars in rewards recovered to the reward pool.

in #abuse6 years ago

You're a damn witness! You're not a nobody around here. You're NOT powerless. Anyway, these minuscule "return to the rewards pool" achievements are a valiant effort yes, but fall way short. It's like watching someone expel water with a bucket out of a sinking ship.

It's as productive and idiotic as the initiative of berniesanders thinking that his little flag poke is doing anything beyond embarrassing his sorry ass and creating a fragile platform for everyone else to move cautiously and lethargically on.

That should really be everyone's concern.
What is the real consensus of stemmit.
Within these walls, it doesn't mean shit if they all know the words to the song. It doesn't mean shit if they all sing along.

What matters is outside of here. What is spoken during that moment of "word of mouth". Sure there are many virgins who like many, fall for the concept. For every virgin though, there is many who speak negative about their experiences. Many have been here, and then gone. Never to return.

The most dominant reason:
A VERY BROKEN REWARDS SYSTEM.

Yet the movement to onboard more and more seems to be priority. Not communities anymore. Well that's a double edged sword. More users will have a positive. However, the more that come and go.. and then pass on their view.. that the platform is broken. A SCAM even. Rigged. This is not how systems and platforms grow.
Even with a dedicated campaign, a reputation is hard to shake.

One cannot build a mansion without a solid foundation.

Sort:  

You have the same false impression many do, witnesses do not have any super power to stop any abuse (nor is it in their job description, I do it by choice).

Stopping abuse is merely a system of who has more Steem Power. I can, however, stop them from using promotional services I offer to further their efforts.

I'd love to know your "return to the reward pool" achievements. Maybe we can compare notes. I blacklisted over 200 people this week from abusing the system, how many have you?

Shit if one individual could initiate 'grumpycat' and force a new code of conduct for the bot owners and users. Then it would indicate that ranked individuals do have powers which they might not be aware of, or maybe.. don't wish to explore.

And as you say, you do it because you choose to. (which I applaud) So to chose not to is thus an option too. One exercised by many. That's the thing. That many who are here long enough know via observation. It's clean up here, this, that... but all that going on up there. .. .... .. . . ..

I have zero invested here but interest. So yeah I can't be an equal to you. Obviously your end question was rhetorical. I appreciate you engaging in conversation though.

@grumpycat also wields a huge hammer, is able to cause damage to lots of innocent people. I refused to yield to the demands of a hypocritical terrorist because of the way he went about it and the fact he does the same thing with his comments, even though I completely agreed with the end goal.

I eventually changed it because in the end I believed in the reason behind it and I had bigger issues to deal with and newer users were getting hurt in the process.

It cost me a lot but such is life. But I think you are disillusioned if you think I have the power to change much here outside of what I control. I tried that as well and well that didn't go well either.

I've come to terms that I need to focus on what I can control or influence.