You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of an Academic Postdoc

in #academia8 years ago (edited)

Well...it's a long story! My wife and I both left our academic jobs and set up a consulting company which was part of a network of cost reduction consultants. We played the analytical, model-building guys while others were good at hand-shaking with CEOs, etc. At the end of the 90s it was quite fun to make models of e.g. 10 M$/year telecom expenditure for a company and then find ways to reduce costs through a mix of supplier negotiation, process re-engineering and infrastructure rationalisation... Eventually, I discovered that theoretical physicists were regarded as ideal candidates for highly paid strategy consulting jobs....and after quitting my academic job, I was crazy enough to turn down an offer from McKinsey :-) As I said, my professional life is a long, strange story. This is just a chunk of it. Feel free to contact me in private (is this possible on Steemit..?) if you'd like to hear more.

Sort:  

There are ways of sending messages via memo's when transferring funds. Should be able to encrypt the message, as well. Add the # symbol in front of the message. Let me do a test.

It hangs for me on the Steemit interface, but I can send via the cli_wallet. Let me verify this test and send you my email.

Can't really see the encrypted memo now via the Steemit interface. I'll submit a support ticket later tonight to git. I've got a whole list of them ...