Saman Dance

in #aceh6 years ago

Saman (or the dance of thousand hands) is one of the most popular dances in Indonesia. Its origin is from the Gayo ethnic group from Gayo Lues, Aceh province, Sumatra, and is normally performed to celebrate important occasions.[1] The dance is characterized by its fast-paced rhythm and common harmony between dancers. These two elements are key figures of Saman, and are among the reasons Saman are widely known and practiced in Indonesia, beside being relatively easy to learn.

On November 24, 2011, UNESCO officially recognized Aceh's traditional Saman dance as a Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity, which needs UNESCO's urgent protection.[2][3]

The ASEAN Tourism Association (ASEANTA) named Saman dance as the best ASEAN cultural preservation effort at the 25th ASEANTA Awards for Excellence 2012.[4]
source Wikipedia

MUD_2463-1.jpg

Sort:  

nice focus point and beautiful colors

and a new follower ☺️

thanks for your review,

Sudah datang kurator foto tuh. Hajar lagi

Mantap bg...
Jng lupa follback ya

makasih bang

Hi, did you capture this image yourself? If so, I'm curious what your settings were, particularly what focal length and f/stop. :)

winstonwolfe, i used nikon D500 with Sigma Art Lenses : Speed 1/2000 F/1.8 at 100mm ( 150mm at DX crop) ISO 100

Very cool! I'm a huge fan of those Sigma Art lenses, too. I've got a few on the wish list!

that's great ! i'm too. I have in my collection for now, 50-100 mm F/ 1,8 24mm F/1.4 and last but not least 35mm F/1.4 i'm saving now to get 85 mm and 24-70 Art lenses, what your lenses collection?

As far as Sigma, I have a 17-50mm f/2.8, and a 70-200mm f/2.8. Neither of these are Art lenses, but I've rented a few of them in the last year or so for weddings, and I have nothing but good things to say about them. I'm particularly fond of their 30mm f/1.8, which is made for a crop sensor, but it can still be used on a full-frame with a nice, creamy vignette at the corners. I have a specific project I want to use this lens for, in fact. ;-)

I picked this photo for my W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit list today. :)
https://steemit.com/wwtop5pix/@winstonwolfe/w-w-s-top-5-photos-of-steemit-003-nov-22-2017

Thanks for your pick, i really appriciate it. Its mean somethings

Mantap,, yg di gayo ini kan

iya ..acara saman 10K kemaren