The Land of Gayo, the land of Coffee

in #aceh6 years ago

IMG_4238.JPG
By Tabrani Yunis
Even I live in Aceh, but it does not mean that I know all about the High land of Gayo, in the middle of Aceh. I even do not go very often. Actually, the first time I visited one of the districts in Gayo land was Takengon in 2006. I was there for holding a training on environmental issue. The second one was in 2007 when I facilitated training on entrepreneurship for women's groups in Angkup, Takengon.

Last Wednesday, March 14, 2018 was my third times to go to Gayo high land after several years. I left for Bener Meriah and Takengon. Actually Both cities were in Central Aceh with the Capital city is Takengon, however the Central Aceh then divided into two districts.

I myself did not know much about Bener Meriah. I thought it was only a small areas in the Gayo highlands. But I was so surprised to see that Gayo highlands not as small as I thought. I even lost the way to find the destination.

I arrived in Bener Meriah in the early morning by my car. Since this district is in the highlands of Gayo, of course it is very cool there. Therefore I prepared jackets. I was shocked when in the way, suddenly my car was jammed. The gears did not want to change. I had to stop on the mountain and checked the engine. I found it and I tried to repair. Finally I could continue my traveling there.

The land of coffee
The sun was raising and shining when I went out after bathing in the morning. However, it was very cool. I stood on the yard for sun bathing. At least I could help my body warmed while looking at the coffee trees grew around the house. It seems that all houses in Gayo highlands are sorrrounded by the coffee trees. It proves that the Gayo is the beautiful and cool lands with green trees as the economic incomes of the people living in Gayo.

IMG_4234.JPG

Staying two days in Bener Meriah and Takengon is actually not enough if we want to enjoy coffee with the nice taste. The cool day will be very nice with coffee. So, everywhere we go, everywhere stay, drinking cofeee is always fun in the Gayo Highlands.Therefore, the land of Gayo is the land of coffee.
IMG_4233.JPG