Reduce Acne Scars

IMG_3978.JPGIMG_3976.JPG
IMG_2759.JPG
The first two pictures are from about 1.5 years ago just after getting rid of the acne that covered my face for 4 years. The 3rd picture is 6 months ago which is what my current skin still looks like. Acne isn't fun, and neither are the scars. During this time I was absolutely, unquestionably obsessed with my acne and the scars, and allowed it to completely take over my life and wellbeing. Everything I did, every plan I made, every person I faced, the first and, predominantly only thing I could think of was my skin, and how "awful" I thought it looked. I wouldn't want people looking at me, I would turn my face and not look people in the eyes for fear of them judging my skin. Looking back on those years, is both saddening and also inspiring. I worked very hard the past year to re-wire my brain and the way I look at myself. To see beyond the exterior image. To embrace a confidence that runs much deeper than my skin. It is hard work, but so rewarding. The acne has gone, the scars are faded, and funny enough....here I am...people treat me just the same, life is still beautiful, just as it always was. That's how unimportant acne is in the big picture. No, it still isn't a fun time when you get a zit, but fuck it. A zit or 100 zits are so not worth the time and energy it takes obsessing over it...that energy can be put towards something so much more positive. I do, however want to help anyone who are on their journey with acne, and offer my advice on skincare products and lifestyle changes that helped me. Let's call it My Acne Journey. Starting with a product that has absolutely changed the texture and colouration of my skin. Reversa Anti-Spot Brightening Serum (from Shoppers Drugmart). Canadian brand. Concentrated in Vitamim C and plant extracts. Applied once a day, a dollop half the size of a pee (tiny tiny), after toner, before face cream. I noticed my scars were faded by half within 1 month, because I went from using 1 to 2 pumps of concealer down to half a pump, and now none, sometimes a dot. Pretty cool stuff, I highly recommend checking it out. Stay tuned for more on My Acne Journey.