HOW OLD IS THAT?!

in #actifit4 years ago

IMG_0206.jpeg

Hi everyone! I'm back with another adventure! This time, I overheard Mom and Dad talking about some trees that are outside of our house. So, being a good lamb, I listened real good to what they were talking about. Now, I'm gonna tell you what I learned!

They were curious about these two Western Red Cedar trees we have because of our adventure trip to the Gold Mine Trail we visited a couple of weeks ago. If you missed my adventure, you can read about it here: https://peakd.com/actifit/@actifit-lamb/my-gold-mine-adventure

On one of our hikes up at the end of our road, I watched them both on their phones trying to figure out how to tell how old a tree was without cutting it down and counting it's actual rings. Sure enough, they found the solution. It goes like this: first, you need to measure 54.5 inches up from the ground on the trunk of the tree. Then, you measure around the tree at this point. I think Mom called this the circumference. Then you divide that by Pi. I always though pies were eaten, so I don't know how you do this; but anyway...... Once you get the total which she called the 'diameter'....(I'm not sure what that is either) then she said you divide that in half. Once you get that total, you divide that by .05. Sounds confusing to me!

This is the first of two trees they've determined an approximate age for. This one is just outside the front of the house. It goes up and up and up! I heard Mom say that she did all that math 3 times because she couldn't believe what the answer was!

IMG_0266.jpeg

Dad was standing beside this so you could see how much bigger it is than he is! Mom said this tree is approximately 503 years old! I'm not sure, but that sounds like a really big number to me, which means it's ancient!

In the back yard, just outside the house is a second tree.

IMG_0264.jpeg

IMG_0263.jpeg

Once again, Dad is standing by to show how big it is, but just look up and up and up! It's huge!! They said this one is approximately 493 years old!

I kept listening, and they were saying that 28 years or so, after 1492 (whenever that was) when Christopher Columbus (whoever he was) discovered America, these two trees were just seedlings! Well, I think they mean baby trees! My lamby concept of time doesn't even understand all these numbers and things, but they were quite amazed!

They also said that this was just an estimate. The only way to really tell how old they are would be to either cut them down and count the rings, which I don't think would work too well as they are too big to lay down, or to do something called a core sample. They don't want to drill into them, so they are happy with the estimate.

So now you know, sort of, how old these two trees that go up and up and up, are.

I've got to go now......my little hooves are very tired from all of this typing!

Until then......Bye! 💜🐑

Sort:  

Hi @actifit-lamb! What a great little bit knowledge you shared with us. I remember way, way back when I was a boy in school, I had to take a course called Geometry. It was very hard and all the kids would complain that they would never need to use what they learned in the class. Well guess what? Your Mom just used Geometry to figure out how old those trees are. I guess those kids were wrong after all.

I guess so! I've heard her say before that with something called algebra, that as a kid, she said she would never have any use for it either, but she says she uses it at work now. For me, it's all over my little lamby brain, but that's ok because I am a lamb! Bye!💜🐑

I learned something new from your Mom and Dad from your article, @actifit-lamb. Thanks for sharing, and enjoy your week! 🥰🌺🤙.

You are very welcome @silversaver888! (Mom says I should always thank everyone who comments, and I know you are special to her) Bye!💜🐑

Congratulations @actifit-lamb! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

That is actually AMAZING @actifit-lamb!! To think of even a fraction of the things that have happened since those trees were born is mind-blowing! I would like to see your pops climb one of those just to see what he could see from the top. ;)
Don't forget the GoPro dad!

:)

LOL @summertooth! I'm not sure, but I don't think the very tippy top of the tree would hold him! If he ever does climb it, I'll make sure he takes a camera with him for sure! Bye!💜🐑

I love that you pay good attention to the humans you hang out with! And 500 years is very, very old!!!

I really like my mom and dad; they are cool! I listen very well to what they talk about. I've got to go before my mom finds me on the computer this late. Bye!💜🐑

hahaha - so cute!