Sort:  

I was going to have a crack at the tour de France at the time but I got hit by a car and got injured quite badly, so that was the end of that.

That really sucks... What did you do after the incident? Quittet riding and changed to something else? I dont know what I would do if I were in that situation. Keep going and hustling, but what exactly...

I kept riding but I never regained the form I was in before the accident. After the first accident I was hit by another car & two trucks (not at the same time) before I decided to call it quits.

Cyclists are basically despised here and people actually take pride in going as close as they can to give you a scare, if you have to swerve around a pot hole while they do it, it's easy to get clipped.

Both times I was hit by trucks I was sideswiped and the driver didn't stop, so I don't even think they knew they hit me. The car accidents were both from drivers that had sped through intersections and I was hit side on and went over the front of the car.

The weird thing was the second time I was hit by a car the car was written off (smashed bonnet,windscreen & the roof caved in) but I walked away from it with just scrapes and bruises. My helmet was smashed up & it undoubtedly saved my life. I was back riding another bike the next day.

These days I stick to cycle ways with my kids.