You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unconditional Love as Strategy: An Idea for Activists

in #activism6 years ago

It's funny, Crime and Punishment was exactly the book I had in mind when I wrote that "others are racked by guilt."

"Great minds think alike", or something like that :D

On a smaller scale, I don't want to think about the adverse impact I'm having on marine life when I throw away a plastic straw, so I think all of us can empathize (if on a much smaller level).

Yes, exactly, that's good example. And it's important to both empathize but also educate about effects of our choices I think.

Practically, as you say, it is hard to imagine. But I don't think it's impossible. Logistically I don't know how this kind of dialogue event might be coordinated

Some time ago I stumbled upon this channel on YouTube, which seems to create this kind of debates on micro scale, they are called "Middle Ground".

They are not debates actually, maybe meetings of few people, so other people on YouTube may watch it. But as I said - it's on a micro scale and gives you hope that that kind of debate could be possible.

Thanks for your comment and thoughts!

Thanks for the article also. Glad that my comment was of some value here :)

Sort:  

Thank you, I will check out this channel. I'm intrigued!