A Day With A Lineman #4 ~ It’s a Leaner!

We got a bit of a leaner folks!! Thanks to an observant customer calling in this didn’t eventually cause any power outages.

B04EAD40926348358F8AAAE7F7045AF2.jpeg

I could see the top of this pole from a ditch road but separating me from the pole is this nice lush wheat field. Now I am not gonna just bomb through his field with my truck, despite not finding any farm road or access in there. Welp, looks like I better take a little walk-in-the-wheat and see what the deal is with this pole.

6D8556110D2B4516BCF1FFB3790692A2.jpeg

The closer I got I began thinking, “Dang, is this thing broke?!?!” Looking at the next pole down line, you can really see how leaned over it is.

26E4FE024A474B8EA7E45C489408EBAD.jpeg

This pole rests on a bit of a bank between 2 wheat fields. I think maybe the good amount of rain we have had in combination with the farmer watering, saturated the ground so deep the whole pole butt moved.

141C7DED84E5439E92F7CAAB24BB09EF.jpeg

Nothing is broke and the power is still on, so this isn’t too big of an emergency. So I wondered back through the wheat and got a hold of the crew and let them know what was going on so they could fix it. This job is more than a One-Man job so, I am off to the next one....

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Until Next Time...

Hive On
and
035B8F45BB2B4146BCFE2760120924AC.jpeg
Stay Tuned for
A Wire Pulling Day

Sort:  

Lol...Stand back folks, we got a leaner here

Tie a sling to it, hook it to a fourby and pull! That's how they're going to fix it? Don't worry about the crop-damage, the farmer won't mind. Lol.

If I wasn't by myself and there wasn't a bank of transformers on the pole and the farmer wasn't watering... Yes that is how we would fix it. Tie a rope around the pole and push it up as high as we could. Dig on the high side of the pole to give it room to move. Then pull it back straight... hopefully.

Instead we have a digger Derrick (Line Truck) that has a set of hydraulic grabbers on the end of the boom. They can open and close around the pole. So I imagine they drove in there, grabbed the pole under the transformers, (this way the farmer can stay energized and we secure the pole) dig out the bottom, and pull it back in line with the truck.

We try our best to keep a "One track in and One track out" when having to enter farmers fields this time of year. Some are kind of grumpy. Lol

I wasn't far off being right then huh? Yeah, I can understand that the farmer might get mad...It's all money after all. I suppose after all these years there's bound to be an easy way arranged (efficient way) to get these sort of jobs done.

Just pull it back straight nice and smooth, you slap those wires together and you got bigger problems to deal with. Lol

We do what we can and respect the farmers fields but they also know that we have to have access to our poles. Most of them are really nice and understanding but there are a few that I would like to take my truck and do some donuts in their field. Lol

Nothing like a little circle-work in a field...been there done that...But not illegally of course. It's a bit of fun. So tell me, what happens when those wires touch...I would imagine not a loving embrace...

Fireworks... Big arcy-sparky and a good amount of people would most likely be out of power. Plus if the wheat fields were dry... a massive fire on out hands that wouldn’t easily be stopped due to the wind blowing

Me likey fireworks...But the rest sounds problematic. Lol.