Are You A Sugar Addict, Too? Part 1

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

Oh my, where do I start????

With me going up and down the weight scale for years and years?
With realizing that if I start eating some chocolate I can´t stop till it´s gone?
With my mood changing drastically when I “indulge” in sweets while I tell myself that I treat myself to something soothing?

No,

I´ll start with my granny.

And I do this with lots of love and gratitude for her in my heart. Even if she started me on my sugar addiction I love her dearly and am glad I had her for some decades in my life!

When I was a child my parents my little sister, and me used to go to my grandparents’ house for the weekends a lot. They lived about 80km from us and we drove there on Saturdays going back Sunday afternoons.

My grandparents had a house and a huge garden where my grandpa grew all kinds of veggies and fruit - actually most of the food they lived on. My granny tended to her flowers and handled, processed, froze or bottled all the incoming fruit and veggies.

So far a very healthy food and living situation, don´t you think?

What my granny did though was giving me sweets

when I hurt myself, when I was angry or sad, after my sister and me got into a fight, when I was frightened … she gave me chocolate, candy, cookies to calm, console or comfort me. I can still remember the brands of sweets she stored in her cupboard.

cookies-2288587_1920Alexandra_München.jpg
Photo Credit Alexandra/München

Another thing she came up with was Sunday morning in-bed-snacking.

My sister and I slept in my granny´s bed on my granddad´s side. He moved into another room during our stay. I believe it was because he did snore big time and my patents wanted to have time for themselves.

So on Sunday mornings when everybody else was still asleep she got out of bed went downstairs, and came back with a plate full of sweets.

gummi-bears-8464_1920Hans Braxmeier.jpg
Photo Credit Hans Braxmeier

We arranged the cushions so we could sit up in bed. While we were eating away on sweets she told us stories from when she was a child.
What a cozy feeling! My granny, my sister, something sweet to eat, interesting stories of a time long gone in bed with my pjs on.

Ups,

you know what I just realize? Sitting here on a Sunday writing this I still have my pajamas on.
That seems to be another thing I got infused with: being comfortable and cared for is when I can stay in my pjs on Sundays as long as I want to.
If you only knew, granny!!

So far for Part 1 of Are You A Sugar Addict, Too?

Preview to Part 2:

How I deliberately didn´t comfort my daughter with sweets when she was little
and how I eventually might come to change my sugar addiction little by little by reflecting on writing about, and learning from all this.

Have a lovely Sunday in or out of your pajamas.

HerzMaike.png

Sort:  

Your granny sounds amazing, I live in my PJs, hate wearing clothes Iol

she really was, karenb54 :) an amazing grandmother.

I can barely remember my grandmother she died when I was young. You must have some lovely memories :)

I do, karenb54. I started to realize and really value my grandma and my roots when my now teenage daughter was about 2 years old. You know, I might actually do some posts on my granny here on steemit as I dig into her life really deep 2 years ago. It was a very special time and ended with saying another Thank you, granny! some years after she died.

Definitely go for it, would be lovely to hear some of her stories :)

My grandmother was amazing too. Thanks for sharing.

As a fairly new grandmother, of Indi, 18 months and another grandson due in September, I am becoming highly aware of the challenges of raising children in modern times will bring to my role. Indi is raised by conscious parents who are teaching him to be curious and confident, he is strong, drinks green juice, eats organic fruit,seeds, nuts and veg and very very low processed food, no dairy or meat. He sleeps with his parents and will be breast fed for as long as possible as they all live in Malawi for 6 months of the year. I resonate very strongly with their loving way of bring him up.
I am also aware that my daughter may have different more traditional ideas and beliefs when her baby son is born. And as grandmother to her little one,, I want to help support and guide her, definitely not judge, criticise or control her, or over suggest what I believe to be for the best. Especially if her choices are different from her brother and his wife. I aim to be harmoniously assisting both sets of parents in alignment with their wishes....

However, as you can imagine, I won't be giving sugary sweets and snacks as symbols of my love, I shall read stories, be creative, take them outside into nature and give them my time, listen to them, encourage them, have fun and laugh :) Most activities can be done in cosy PJ's too!!!

Thanks for posting this Maike,it got me thinking and I take my new role and very precious role very seriously and will be carrying the torch for kind conscious grandparenting!!!

ah, thank you Hazel! You are and will be an amazing granny for your grandchildren :)
Isn´t living a concious life a gift?!!