A Small Fish in a Big Pond

You never know you're a small fish until your pond changes

big-fish-small-pond-shutterstock-8451121-big-fish-small-pond-20151229064458-56822bea09d05.jpg

Have you ever swum around your pond, puffed out your gills and thought: "I'm a big fish?"

Maybe its not something you do knowingly. It may be a sub conscious thing, like an awareness of how you move through the world. I've puffed the gills over the years, and un-puffed them again, in time.

I've been blessed enough in my 34 years to have experienced so much. I've received my Bachelors in music, I've taught at 3 schools, I've played in tonnes of bands, toured Europe as a musician, became an alcoholic and a drug addict, kicked the drugs and booze, started a recording studio, had hit songs on the radio, became successful, failed, picked myself up, failed again, and picked myself up again. Most importantly, I had a child, a little boy that saved my life by being born.

I believe it was failure that taught me that if you always believe you're a small fish, then you'll always have room to grow.

Dream big fish.jpg

Now I find myself in a pond so big, that I don't believe it has edges, its just pond as far as the eye can see!
This Steemit thing. Its hard to grasp when you're starting out, but I believe that its important. I believe its the kind of thing that is a conduit towards the future, and if you don't try and understand where the future is going, you'll forever be in the past, in your small, old pond, where you can be nice and big, for a time at least, until the different corners go from being familiar, to being tired and boring. Me? I want to swim. I want to grow.

So why should you adopt me?

For starters, when it comes to changing myself and adapting, I bury myself in the task until the transformation starts to take hold.

Here's a clear example of me transforming into a cat on stage.
Ross Cat Transform.jpg

Real talk now.

I believe I have something to say, and I believe that if I'm gonna take the time to say something, might as well try and make it heard as well.

As a musicians I have explored so many different facets to life, and worked with so many different types of people from different parts of the world that I feel like I've sponged up all this information that has given me a unique perspective that is looking for an outlet, and I'm hoping for Steemit to be that outlet. I just don't quite now how to maximise on it all...yet! And that's why I need your help @topkpop. 😌😌😌

Here's a link to a video where I stripped the sound off of a popular commercial and did my own music and sound to it, as a way of getting to know a bit about my passion.

How will I be a supportive minnow?

By learning about the platform and networking, this will enable me to grow and be in a better position to help others like me, who are just starting out, even be in a position to adopt my own minnow to groom!

I'll obviously upvote, comment and resteem my fearless leader's posts, adding my metaphorical 2 cents to the mix. (Obviously its more like 0.01c right now 😅😅😂😂)

I also would love to share my knowledge and skills about music and sound with other Steemians.

At the moment I've joined the @ADSactly discord channel where I'm trying to stay present in the music sub-channel to support the other artists there and keep the dialogue going.

Introducing @princessmewmew !!!

Carmen.jpg
from left to right - me, princessmewmew, and my brother @dokkodo

Princessmewmew and I are friends IRL and I don't think she has ever had a bad thought about anyone in her whole life. She is just one of those people who epitomises the word "good", and manages to infect everyone around her with her bubbly charm. She also happens to be married to one of my best friends, @morkrock.

Her posts on Steemit about antiques, food, and other things she finds lovely are really well thought out and executed with obvious time, love, and attention to detail.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for the opportunity @topkpop

Succeed or not, it was fun writing this post ☺️

Sort:  

If there's one post that I needed to read today, it's THIS! Thanks for writing and sharing! Hope to see more from you in the future!

A very good application and good luck

This reminds me I must do my post for this

I suspected @orincessmewmew would be great person in Real life as she is on here

Thank you so much m! Yes, do it. We must all get adopted 😊😊

I am writing my post asking for potential adoptees to apply this morning 😎

You’re a good man 😊 us noobs really sometimes feel like we’re sinking rather than swimming and this kind of initiative could help create solid steemians that stay on the platform. I hope you find the perfect minnow to adopt.

I try and do what I can to help the platform grow

I hope I can find a Minnow where we can help each other

Great post!

Maybe I too will be adopted one day, is @dokkodo steeming it up now?

Nah 😣 gonna reach out to him though and tune him

The kiss in the version without music seems so untouchable.
How happy we are to be sourrounded by music that pushes us, to have a motivation, to anticipate our goals emotionally

Beautifully said!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post!

Maybe I too will be adopted one day, is @dokkodo steeming it up now?

its a big post no doubt.its just unbelievable you write frequently the things one can only think to write.you write who are you and what kind of man are you.i follow you and always welcome your post.thanks you so much for sharing yourself.
i resteam your post.