The lost mermaid

in #adoptaminnow6 years ago

They call me a mermaid.. And I often wonder; what am I more; fish or human?

image

I feel that I am a lost little human girl, lost in the vast ocean, the aquatic world of fish, trying to figure out a way to blend in..
True that I live with them, but the hundreds of thousands of species of fish hardly accept me as their own. I know that I look otherworldly. But there's this one thing that beats looks and home and all else! My emotions.. They're human...
I feel happy when a school of fish swim past me, sending my way a rhythmic pattern of waves.. I feel excited when a boat arrives, bringing with it the sailors, those sun tanned handsome sailors.. I feel love, just like any other human does, when an enchanted sailor sings for me.. And I feel sad when they leave, for all of them ultimately have to leave.. And above all else, I feel lost, without knowing my exact place here in the ocean...
And I'm eagerly waiting for someone who knows their way around, to take my hand and guide me.. For I am just a lost little mermaid...

Sort:  

wow well written young lady :)

Great poem!

Thank you!!