Driving Through Europe-part#3

in #adsactly6 years ago

Driving Through Europe-part#3

The sense of freedom we enjoyed while traveling gave our lives a new dimension.
Waking up early in the morning, in order to look around for as long as possible,
and wandering in the streets without directions,
as well as a mile-long wait for a few cans of beer, did not seem tough and tedious anymore.
It has become a part of travel, freedom and security.

On Tuesday morning, Mark and I woke up before the alarm. We woke up much before we would wake up to go to work. Ana was still firmly asleep.
The smell of coffee that Mark made spread all over the apartment. He poured two cups and gave me one. We sat together on the bed and enjoyed its taste. We looked at each other.
I did not want to ruin the moment. It was perfect and peaceful, while we were holding a hot drink in our hands, talking about yesterday's events, exchanging smiles, and planning a new trip.

We decided to visit Gent and on the return pass through Brussels. Ana woke up.
We brought her coffee in the room. All three of us were on the bed in a slumber, side by side.
The feeling brought me back to my childhood. Like playful children who plan to play a game.
I let myself go. When we told her what we planned, she could not believe it. Are you going on the road again, she asked us and opened her eyes wide?

The 260 km long road to Gent awaited us. We're on our way. We had to get out of town.
The morning buzz had already begun. People went to work. After waiting for two or three traffic lights, we got on the highway. Traffic in the opposite direction, towards Luxembourg was getting thicker. A long column of cars and trucks were slowly moving until they finally stopped.
This was not surprising to me because Luxembourg is a business city with large daily migrations. Residents from neighboring countries travel daily, in the morning to work, and they return home from work in the evening.

The drive to Gent lasted for several hours. While Mark drove I read some interesting facts about the city on the Internet:

It is located in the north of Belgium in the Flanders region and it is the third largest city, which has about 250,000 inhabitants. It is located at the mouth of the river Lys in the Schelde River.
The channel is connected to the North Sea and is a significant port.
I was very surprised by the fact that during the 11th, 12th and 13th centuries Gent was the second largest city in Europe, just behind Paris, thanks to the textile industry and trade.
Wool was the main driver of development and wealth of the city.
Gent center is the largest car-free area in Belgium, which is one of the main reasons why the medieval city center is so well preserved.
Gent is a student city with 65,000 students, making up more than 25% of the total population.

Mark had already visited Gent before, and it was the first time for me. He wanted me to see it because he really liked it. We parked our car in a public garage near the center and went sightseeing.
Since we had only a few hours, we visited the historic center of the city. We arrived to a small square where I noticed three medieval sights, exceptionally high and impressive towers that make a distinctive sign of Gent.
We visited each. The first one was the 13th century Saint Nicholas Church, whose tower was built in stages for several centuries.
At 91 meters of height there was the Belfry of Ghent tower, which makes it the highest bell tower in the country and is under UNESCO protection.
And the third in a row was the tower of the Gothic cathedral Saint Bavo. The construction of the cathedral lasted for a long time. It started in the 11th century and ended in the 16th.
In one shot I managed to get all of them from the Sint Michielsbrug Bridge.

We continued walking around the city; our attention was drawn to the narrow alleyways.
We went from one to another. Everything would surprise us again, a nicely decorated hotel, a showroom, a shop, a restaurant, a cafe.

I noticed that the center of the city is divided by numerous canals, over which there are beautiful pedestrian bridges. Along with some of the canals, there are promenades with imaginatively decorated façades, medieval buildings and numerous restaurants and cafés, serve as a gathering place for people.
On one of the canals it was possible to pay for a tourist boat ride, to sail through the canal and to see the city. Just for those in love, I thought.

You'll see something startling now, Mark said. We came to the bridge from which I saw a huge, old, medieval mansion. I was left speechless, completely surprised.
For a few seconds I just watched it, admiring his beauty and grandeur. We came in front of it.
I read that the Castle of Gravensteen, which translated from the Dutch means Count's Castle, was built in 1180. It was the seat of the Flemish counts. After the counts left the castle and moved to other locations, its purpose changed.

It was used for coining money, a court, prison with torture rooms, and in the 19th century it was used as a factory complex where cotton was produced.
Since it was in poor condition, at the end of the 19th century the renovation began.
In front of us stood a group of tourists and schoolchildren, waiting for the order to come to his chambers to take a look at it.
The next time we have to see how the castle looks inside, I told Mark while I was still curiously watching it from the small square in front of the entrance.

Surrounded by medieval architecture, towers, castles, canals, bridges, I felt like I was in a fairy tale. A warm, sunny day contributed to the feeling. The weather was too warm for November.

Mark became hungry, so he found a diner in the center, and I stayed on the city square.
I sat on a bench and tried to feel the rhythm of the city. I noticed the accelerated pace of the people, whether they had to go to trams and buses, rode their bicycles or rushed in some way. The teachers who led the playful children through the city tried to hold them together with all their force. I saw several trucks on the square from which the workers unloaded the working material. The hum of people was mixed with trams, buses, and trucks. I felt the hustle I hadn't felt before, and yet it was a working day.

A female voice interrupted my imagination and observation.
Please take a picture of me, asked a nice girl from China and pushed her camera into my hands. Of course, I answered. She left her bag next to me and then she was striking pose as a real professional for a fashion magazine. It passed through my head - who knows where these photos will end up ...
After that she thanked me, she tried to say thank you in my language. And I said you’re welcome in Chinese. I do not know how successful my attempt was, since I repeated that words several times.
She was certainly out of town hustle along with people sitting in the cafes and enjoying the rays of sun.

If the center is so beautiful, how do the more distant parts of the city look like, the thought went through my head. I bought two tram tickets. We went to the first tram that came.
After 5 or 6 stations all came out of the tram, and the driver told us that it was the last station since the tram line was further renewed. Mark and I had a good laugh. We returned to the center.

As the day went off, I was more and more sorry that we did not find any accommodation to stay for few more days in this beautiful city.
I was interested in walking through an old castle and seeing what secrets it kept.
I wanted to take a tourist boat through the canals. Visit museums.
Walk through the once-old medieval squares and streets, admire the high towers and nicely decorated facades. Something we have to do the next time, Mark said.

We were already pretty tired of sightseeing and walking. Along one channel we found a pub and sat for a beer.
In Belgium, a country known for its excellent beers, the waiter suggested that we try the beer imported from the United States, more specifically Massachusets.
I could not believe it. We ordered it, Spencer beer, Trappist India Pale Ale, and I have to admit it was one of the best I've ever tried.

When we went to Brussels, the night fell. We walked through the center and took pictures of the main square. It was beautiful, large, bright and crowded.
We did not stay for long, a long way back to Luxembourg awaited us.

Authored by: @lufcija

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adsactly-witness/adsactly-steemit-witness-proposal
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  
There are 5 pages
Pages

nice capture

Very cool I need a EUROTRIP

One of my favorite to visit part of Europe is Belgium

@adsactly they made me feel there, I even felt the aroma of coffee.
Very good story, focusing on things that are truly important when one travels.
Beautiful Life!

somebody has done flag on me, that i did not melakun mistake, please help me, my level has decreased drastically, I beg the steemit friend to help me, I want to prove the same person who has done flag that he is very cruel with fellow friends. please help me @faisalmakruf

While I love Europe for what it has to offer in terms of culture, history, language, and cuisines, I mostly love it for how I feel when I am there.

  • I sleep better. While I am a middle of the night insomniac in the US, I sleep extremely well in Europe. Though I suspect it relates to the absence of food additives and the absence of the quiet roar of the interstate a mile from my home, it may just reflect a feeling of well-being.
  • I love walking and always carry a pedometer. While I have to devote a period of time at home to achieve my 10,000 steps, I rarely have a day in Europe where I don’t attain that number just in the course of a day. I suspect that it is due to the fact that I rarely use a car and that I rarely visit a place without pedestrian zones.
  • I love the cycle and times of meals. A later lunch and dinner and allowing for both to be drawn out affairs adds to the feeling of well-being.
  • I love the availability of culture in most European second and third tier cities. While one expects London to be like New York, one doesn’t expect a place like Nuremberg, Trier, or York to have nightly cultural venues that include multiple options.

I look forward to my vacations in Europe as times of rest and recovery and always return refreshed — except, perhaps, when I have guided and taught 24 university students around the continent.

thank you for this. love it. I have never been but this is so enriching. I am so hungry for travel. :]

Awesome trip i must say. I love the sense of freedom too. You really had fun althrough Gent.
I really love the picture of the main square, beautiful lighting and atmosphere. Its really cool to have had those beers. I am sure they were refreshing. Did that waiter offer you beer from czech republic 🇨🇿 This post is making me reminisce on my days of travelling. I miss those days. Thanks for the post @adsactly
Someone rightly said, “The world is a book, and those who don't travel read only one page.”
I want to read this book from cover to cover, that is why I like to travel.
I like to travel because I learn to develop skills that I didn't even know I had. I could trek up a steep hill in Himachal all by myself.
I like to travel because it opens my eyes to different cultures and people, and experiences.
It helps you learn who you are, makes you a well rounded person, and you realize what little space you occupy in this big, big world.
The challenges and opportunities that come along with travel makes me a stronger person.
Great trip @lufcija. Keep it up. :)

Thank you for such a beautiful comment.

this is an interesting description of your trip
Judging by the description and photos, this student city is filled with a special atmosphere. I see a lot of beautiful old buildings, they attract attention. All around it says that this city is the embodiment of an old and beautiful Europe. The buildings look very well-groomed and each of them has its own interesting and long history. These buildings and these streets have seen many generations of people. If they could talk, they could tell us a lot.
Water channels deserve special attention, they are similar to the circulatory system of man. A great place to spend time with two lovers.
I think there's nothing better than spending time in such a fabulous place. But the main thing is not to forget to drink beer :)
Thank you, interesting article, I liked it

Excellent write up so far regarding your trip to Europe! Love the way you detailed the busy commute into the city. I and my wife have travelled more or less all over Western Europe. In last five years, my travels have taken me through the UK, Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, Germany, Holland, Belgium, Denmark and Ireland! I am now located in Central Portugal where the road outside my house is considered busy if we have more than 20 cars a day and yes it is the main road! Below is a picture of our house here albeit in the distance! We are based near Tomar and if you pass by stop in and say "Hi"

home.jpg

hello @adsactly What a fabulous trip, thank you for allowing us to accompany you on this magical trip, it really is a wonderful place, as all the countries of the world have their charm this is not far behind with its historical monuments remembering those stories of the past that fascinate and amaze humanity, thanks for opening that window to those who still do not know this place, in my own experience it is fantastic as all the countries of the European community being England one of my favorites and Ireland which is already the land of the elves and fairies a place that you should not miss knowing and with many stories to value, continue to travel the world this opens a door to nurture more of our history and know our trajectory in the evolution of man in the passage through this world

Wow I think I have to visit there also :D

i like this post I really love the picture of the main square, beautiful lighting and atmosphere thank you for sharing this post and your all images is very nice

This is going to be on my bucket list for sure! Sounds like a dream place to visit! Thank your for sharing.

Was so nice to read your post and to feel this atmosphere. Want to leave everything and set off for a trip =D
In case, if u will be in Poland - I`m glad to meet and work as a guide for a day =)

Looks like a nice trip.

Very nice post!

It's nice indeed am loving the buildings

Thank you for such a detailed tour.

i lover driving... per day i'm 4hrs drive

Yes, very nice post about your trip to Europe. You have an easy style of writing that seems to be popular here.

@adsactly Thanks for presenting articles like this. Travel blogs never fail to entertain people.@lufcija your photos makes me like Belgium more.

Hahaha loved the way you said you guys woke up before alarm which you would not do usually and I am sure i will not do anytime 😉

I like historical places thank you @adsactly for sharing this beautiful pictures

i love traviling <3 thanks for the new place :)
keep sharing <3

Nice scenery what are your thoughts

I need those super powers like that movie called "jumper" lol #humor

this is a very enjoyable trip, I really like this kind of trip, because on this trip, we get many interesting and good things @adsactly.

There is a lot of history in places like that.

yes, therefore I really like traveling like this.

Nice story and awesome pictures as well.
You are such a great author and photographer.
I love it soo much and enjoyed reading it.
Keep it up

NICE! Driving through Europe is on my bucket list. Please see my recent post​ about Rome, Italy:

https://steemit.com/travel/@maryarez/facts-about-colosseum-rome-beauty

Undoubtedly the prettiest city in Belgium. The scenery is truly breathtaking with lots to look at. The city of Gent is indeed the best hidden secret of Europa! A great city with many historical buildings. Friendly people who are very helpfull with any question.It is also very dense old city centre, where it s marvellous to stroll around between the old buildings, churches or along the canal. Take a stroll or a boat-tour. You too always encounter small shops or bars where it s great to sit or look around.
Great post though!

I've been wanting to go to Belgium for quite a while. Seems like it is full of wonderful places to visit.

you should check out Leuven. A hidden GEM

You are right, it is a gorgeous medieval city with beautiful architecture.

This was very enjoyable to read and you definitely picked the right city to visit, Ghent is great!

Do you have links to part 1 & 2? I've checked your (Steemit) blog, but they seem to be further down than I'm willing to scroll :P

You definitely did the town justice with this post. Great to see my country featured here :)

Upvoted for visibility to get an answer on my question

I am so glad you enjoyed and that you are interested in reading the first and second parts.
I hope you will like it. :) Thank you!

https://steemit.com/adsactly/@adsactly/adsactly-travels-driving-through-europe-part-1
https://steemit.com/adsactly/@adsactly/adsactly-travels-driving-through-europe-part-2

Thank you for responding, you've given me some good reading material! :)

You always do a great job here.....love to your work....

What an exciting and beautiful trip! Thanks for sharing your experiences and photographs.

Thank you for reading :)

FANTASTIC !! I Enjoyed the Journey!!!

Cheers!

Thanks :)

Have you consider coming to Portugal??
The tourism is getting bigger here, and there is a lot of attraction especially in Algarve, Lisbon and Porto!
If you decide to travel to Portugal and need someone to help you exploring good places, I'm willing to help!!

We love Portugal but the tourism is almost unbearable and we're here right now during off -season.

I haven't gone to Europe.
If I have the chance, I would maybe visit the Vatican City and take photos on the top-rated tourist attractions like this one:

Museo Pio Clementino

The Vatican Museums have the largest collection of ancient sculpture in the world, mainly found in Rome and the surrounding areas, most of it displayed in the systematic arrangement designed by Popes Clement XIV and Pius VI from 1769 to 1799. These galleries contain such a wealth of magnificent and significant pieces that even a list of the highlights is a long one. In the Sala a Croce Greca don't miss the red porphyry sarcophagi of Constantine's daughter, Constantia, and his mother, St. Helen, both richly decorated with figures and symbols. In the Sala delle Muse look for Belvedere Torso, a first-century-BC work by Apollonius of Athens that was admired by Michelangelo. In the Gabinetto delle Maschere is a mosaic floor of theatrical masks from the Villa Adriana in Tivoli. In the Cortile del Belvedere is one of the most famous statues in the Vatican - the Apollo Belvedere. In the Galleria delle Statue notice the Candelabri Barberini,the finest ancient candelabras known, also from the Villa Adriana at Tivoli. Galleria dei Busti contains, along with lunette frescoes by Pinturicchio, the celebrated Laocoön group, a masterpiece of Hellenistic sculpture showing the Trojan priest Laocoön and his sons in a mortal struggle with two huge snakes.

..beautiful place and very interesting to visitInformative....Thanks for the information and helpful .
and again thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading ;)

This was really good.
By the way, just check you my first post and give me some suggestions.
https://steemit.com/ten/@its-abid-here/10-most-amazing-lost-worlds-on-earth
Please don't flag the comment. This is can be very helpful for me.

The trip sounds amazing

It was a great trip :)

Loved visiting the city with you!
oh how I wish I could be there! Definitely on my bucket list!

Definitely up my ventilation shaft.

I feel like visiting europe right now cos....you really detailed your post so well with the pictures and went as far as letting us in on some history about the place you visited..i really love your post and its giving me the drive to write about places i have been to.

Found this street art under the highway while in Europe
20160521_195900.jpg

so nice!!!

a joyous journey of friends, I really like your trip, you are a great friend.

Wow! These shots are incredible! Thank you so much for sharing these!

Very beautiful snaps, Europe is truely very Amazing :)

Maybe my experience in working more than you. But your luck in getting the money is better than mine. Experience will lose equally good luck. I need special guidance from you. It is amazing you are in work. Amazing ...

This is something I always wanted to do.. but never go and do it for one reason or another.. at least i can experience it trough you or maybe i can finally build up the courage to go do it myself.

thanks for this, the photos are awesome.

I also like to drive a car at 100 of above speed,going for trips like beautifull and historical places.....thanks for remember me for my old golden memories

nice possst adsactly

MIND blowing description about A trip. You have talent man about article making. Feeling jealous about your trip. I wish a great EUROTRIP like you.

I like the way you start your article, and then post such an amazing photo's at the middle. Interesting!

nice pictures
Good luck

Красота!!! Как хочется побывать в Европе! Жена была, а я - нет!

There are 5 pages
Pages