You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly on ADSACTLY - Money Velocity

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

This is my first comment. Yes, I'm new. Hate being a newbie but I guess I need to start somewhere. Anyways. My thought is this. Does there ever come a time when the velocity of money is "too fast". What I mean is. Is there ever a time when actually paying money for something isn't worth the effort? For example. The other day my wife went into a local gas station convenience store. She likes Coke. Not Pepsi. But because Coke was out at the fountain drink station she chose Pepsi. She explained to the attendant working the register that she prefers Coke and since they were all out of Coke she chose Pepsi. He gave it to her for free. Yes. Free. For some reason that $1.76 drink wasn't worth charging my wife for. Why not? It kind of baffles me because that money could be used to keep that gas station open. Keep the attendants job. Etc. Etc. Etc. Another example of this is when I was teaching my kids (Twin four year old boy and girl) to tip the pizza delivery person. The kids were really excited to give the tip. And all they had were quarters they had saved in their little piggy banks. The deliver girl didn't accept the money, even though it was about $4 worth of quarters! Talk about a lesson gone wrong. I was trying to teach my kids about money and paying folks for their work and they got denied hard! My point is that there are many kinds of behavior our society engages in that also slows the velocity of money.

Thanks for this article. Really enjoyed it!