Volcano Boarding and CRASHING in Nicaragua with my beautiful girlfriend.

in #adventure7 years ago

Today is Sunday and it is really fucking hot outside (we live in Playa del Carmen at the moment), so it makes perfect sense to stay home and remember some of my favorite moments of my 8 month journey through Central and South America with Danny, my beautiful girlfriend. And it makes even more sense to share it on #Steemit, where readers will actually appreciate the content.

Volcano Boarding

Yes, there is such a thing and it was invented in Nicaragua. Cerro Negro to be exact. A bunch of adventurers, travel agents and opportunists thought it would be a great idea to board downhill a very steep and young volcano. Crazy idea, right? Well, it was the perfect idea for a crazy couple like us and as soon as we heard about it, we knew we had to give it a try. At the time, we were travelling with Vee & Row, some of the coolest people we met during our travels, and that gave us even more of a boost to make the decision...and go volcano boarding.

The rest of the story is better told with these photos.

  • Make sure you see the full gallery.

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg

You have to climb up hill for over an hour. It´s windy, its exciting, it´s fu/$&$ awesome.

4.jpg5.jpg
6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg9.jpg11.jpg12.jpg

These are Vee & Row. Their story is story is motivating, inspiring and full of great anecdotes.

13.jpg
14.jpg
15.jpg16.jpg

The crash

I wanted to get some cool photos of Danny volcano boarding so I set up my Canon 6D with a 70mm-300mm lens. I swear I did not intentionally shoot her crash scene. I was completely focused on trying to keep her in the frame, so I was not aware of how fast she was going. I did hear Vee say, "She is going really fucking fast". I had my camera set on burst mode so I shoot the pics not really knowing what was going on. A half a second later I was running towards Danny as she was rolling down the volcano.

17.jpg
18.jpg19.jpg20.jpg

The result

She was a bit out of breath, and had some small cuts on her knees and elbows...but look at this smile.
21.jpg

I will continue sharing many stories and photos, so stay tuned. If you want to know how to go on this adventure, leave a comment and I will give you the details.

Enjoy. Peace.

Sort:  

Volcano boarding!!
wow! I am seeing something like this for the first time
great pictures 👍👍🍻

It is most definitely a one of a kind experience. I am glad you enjoyed the photos.

Amazing pictures this looks like sheer adrenaline rush and so fun :)!! Upvoted thanks for sharing

@laurenkavanach It seems like you like good photos and good stories. This is one of my favorite. Let me know what you think. https://steemit.com/photography/@diegotorrescolo/the-night-i-overpaid-a-taxi-driver-by-500-to-take-a-photo-of-the-stars

That is amazing!!! :) Really great shot

Thank you @laurenkavanagh. Make sure to follow if you want to read and see more cool adventures. Have an good Sunday.

This is an awesome story! Amazing Pictures as well.

I don't think I have ever seen someone Go boarding down volcanoes! Amazing!!!

Looks like so much fun and I wish I could have been there with you guys to enjoy the fun!

Keep up the great posting!
@Timbo

Hey @Timbo. Thank for the comment my friend.

This was so much fun. The best part is that Danny and I both enjoyed it, even though there was a small crash.

Sounds like you had loads of fun and the pictures look amazing! I have never even seen a place like this but I bet it would an adventure to go for sure!

That's intense. I would be scared to death to ride this down. Awesome pictures man :).

I though I would be scared also. I am not a big fan of heights. But, it was amazing. And the views were worth every step up the volcano.

Followed you hop u follow back and visit my blog @kishan