Weekend Hiking Trip Near Winter Park, Colorado (Trails Reviews).

in #adventure7 years ago

Is hard to chose where to hike in Colorado, the amount of options is overwhelming. However, as parents of a 19 month old, and not expert hikers, we try to keep our treks within 5 miles distance.
Base on these reasons, we selected 2 trails for the weekend: The Second Creek Trail and The Monarch Lake Loop Trail.

The Second Greek Trail

This journey is all about stunning views, colorful wildflowers, and a lovely creek.
It is a 3 mile trail rated moderate with a Min/Max elevation of : 10,551 to 11,388 ft. Since I moved to Colorado this has been the highest altitude in which I have hiked; thus, I had to stop more than a couple of times to catch my breath while ascending.

My tip: At the summit you can find a hut with toilets, but there is no water so bring plenty.
Also, if hiking in this season, keep walking a little further pass the hut, there is a very beautiful creek mainly originated by melting snow, which composes mind-blowing landscaping.

The Monarch Lake Loop Trail

If you, like me, are a fan of the combination of water and mountain panoramas, this is the place to go.
It has a total of 4.1 miles, and although in many sites is rated moderate; as a beginner hiker, I would consider it easy. It has a elevation gain of just 544 ft, and there were many families and kids hiking it.
The place offers so many activities to choose from; and I never got bored, because there is always something beautiful that catches your attention.
This is one trail I would definitely be looking forward to do again.

Tip: We found sings (yes, poop) of so many wildlife but couldn't see any. Base on the trail's reviews, it can be stated, that there is more chance to see wild life such as deer or moose at early hours.
It took about 2 hours to complete the loop, but next time I will bring more snacks to be able to stop oftener in order to appreciate better some of this trail stunning spots.

Thanks for reading!. Have a great weekend.
Please take a look at my related posts below.

https://steemit.com/parenting/@linzy13/easy-hike-with-a-toddler-near-denver-colorado

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@linzy13/color-challenge-thursday-the-green-i-love

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@linzy13/from-south-to-north-from-east-to-west

Sort:  

I want to swim there :P

Me too lol, but I think it is too cold for me.

Wow, those landscapes are breathtaking = O

Thank you :)

Congrats @linzy13. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :). Upvoted and Resteemd!

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-8th-july-2017-201778t171424834z

I really appreciate it! more than anything, I am really happy you liked my photo. Thanks!

Linzy how beautiful it is there in the summer! I've only been in the winter love your pictures and your story stem on my friend! Looking forward to your next steem!🌺

Thank you again @cecirod1218 for your kind comment. Let me know if you are ever in the area! :)

Wow looks like such a beautiful place for hiking
Thanks for the info and tips noted these places invade I ever visit there

Upvoted

Thank you! I appreciate your vote and comments. Following in return :)

awesome creation
Webp.net-resizeimage.gif

Thanks a lot!

Oh damn, this is beautiful, have you ever thought about doing the pacific trail? That is some journey I would love to read about, or better yet, join in the crew!

There are many journeys I would love to do! the Pacific Trail is one of them. I feel like the most difficult thing about doing long journeys is time. Ordinary parents and working people do not count with much time :(.

It looks really beautiful! I would love to go hiking in the mountains of Colorado one time ;)

It is amazing! there is something different to see each time. Let me know if you are ever in the area :)

absolutely breathtaking view !

It was a very rewarding hike for sure. Thanks for stoping by:).

Stunning. Colorado is my favourite state. If I moved back to the USA, I would want to live there.

We dreamed for years to live here until 3 months ago we made it happen! Thanks a lot for stopping buy :)