Hiking Koko Head Crater Trail | Oahu, Hawaii

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

There's no shortage of epic hikes on the island of O'ahu, and a personal favorite is Koko Head Crater. Access to the trail starts at Koko Head Park in Hawaii Kai. Once you find the abandoned railway, it's a straight shot to the top!

My girlfriend, Anna, and I made the 1,050 stair climb up Koko Head in a little under 30 minutes. Our pace allowed us to catch sunrise, but, man, was I winded at the summit. 3/4 of the way up, I may or may not have told her to go on and finish without me... I'm glad she didn't allow it — what breathe I had left was stolen by the imminent view!

PSX_20170511_135518.jpg
Looking down the abandoned railway of Koko Head from near the mountain's summit. // Photo is my own

PSX_20170512_115506.jpg
Sunrise from the summit of Koko Head // Photo is my own

PSX_20170621_201748.jpg
Looking up towards the summit of Koko Head from the base of the abandoned railway. Only 1,050 stairs to the top! // Photo is my own

PSX_20170621_201536.jpg
A little past the half-way point the railway suspends 10 to 20 feet above the ground. Crossing is a bit precarious and not for those who fear heights! // Photo is my own

Note: We started our hike around 5:30AM. The above sunrise photo was actually one of the first photos I took on the hike. The others were take upon our decent.

RECENT POSTS

Allow Me to Introduce Myself | Let's Connect!

Where Do You Buy Your BTC/ETH/LTC?

Sort:  

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

That's awesome! Thank you! 🙏🙏🙏

Wow, island of O'ahu is beautiful..willlike to visit

It's pretty fantastic! If you ever get the opportunity, go! 😃

Thanks will note it for a consideration.

Very nice! I post about this one two weeks ago. Made me $85 before the HF19. That trail never gets old. Just get u winded every time. Thank u for showing so love for our aiana. Aloha!

That's awesome! I gather you're from the island? I envy you. We miss it so much every day!

Yes, I live here on Oahu and the Stairs is one of my cardio work out spot. Enjoy the rest of your day. Aloha.