Part 4 - Bicycle Tour Hobo Style - Lolland, Denmark to Coppenhagen Enroute To Oslo Norway.

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Introduction.

I had set off on a bike journey to go to Oslo, Norway from Flensburg, Germany. I don't ever travel like you would think. Most take trains or planes, or buses, and stay in hostels and buy food, and most are on a "limited period of time from work" to squeeze in many places they want to see before returning to the shackles. I have been traveling for 8 years, but the last 4 years I have slowed down even more than I already was. I travel slowly compared to others because I was always limited (financially)to the cash in my pocket and anyway was used to having no spare cash, even when I wasn't traveling, which was definitely much worse by far!

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3


Part 4

Dairy Entry continued at "Nils" house..

Im now crashing at Nils' place until Tuesday (today is Sunday). I was just going to stay a night but there has now been weather warnings of snow! He's a very interesting guy, a right freak. Great to talk about what normal people have never even thought about :) He asked me if I was going to Copenhagen and then offered me a ride with the dogs and the bike as he has a bike carrier for the car. 163km lift, why not. I counted the money and I should go play a bit tomorrow where I first met Nils so then I have enough to by a big lump of hashish at Christiania for the rest of the way to Oslo - then just sit in a car and go to Coppehangen, Perfecto.
Nils got exited when I told him I do building work and I did a day helping him for his kind hospitality. The house was so fucking cheap it cost 125,000 kr and its on a 400m2 plot, huge house.

25th April 2016 Diary Entry

Nil's planned to go tomorrow but instead we will go today and I'll get dropped of at the port. YESTERDAY IT SNOWED! TODAY IT HAILED!
So im since a few hours in Christiania..

I did go and make some more money for Christiania, and also I found a lot of food and took it back with me as we had earlier suggested to have a BBQ. I cant remember what I think it was steaks that I started cooking and he was shocked because he thought I had spent my money on it. He liked it a lot when I told him it was from the trash, and was well happy to have a steak. It was actually quite nice to get a ride considering the storms and wind was back in action! Nils also had an apartment in Coppenhagen and stayed there at the weekends. He was a great guy, even told me that if I ever pass the house in Lolland and he isn't there - "You know where the key is!" Plus if I ever wanted a place to grow in Denmark, I could use his back garden! Legend. We left around 10am after some breakfast and coffee and some joints and headed to Coppenhagen.

to coppen (2).gif

Chrisitania..

christiania.jpgImg

8.jpeg
Img

If your ever in Coppenhagen, then it's just plain rude not to go see this place. When Crypto and Blockchain reign supreme, this place is a great example of how life would work for the people who refuse the microchip and smart technology and people would still exist having some kind of individuality and not live in a fascist state.

Here's some facts about it from Wikipedia (completely copied and pasted!) :

"Freetown Christiania, also known as Christiania (Danish: Fristaden Christiania[needs IPA] or Staden), is a self-proclaimed autonomous anarchist district of about 850 to 1,000 residents, covering 34 hectares (84 acres) in the borough of Christianshavn in the Danish capital city of Copenhagen. It was temporarily closed to residents in April 2011 by the Danish government, but later re-opened."

"Christiania has been a source of controversy since its creation in a squatted military area in 1971. Its cannabis trade was tolerated by authorities until 2004. In the years following 2004, measures for normalizing the legal status of the community led to conflicts, police raids and negotiations."


Been here 6 hours now, I met a guy on the way here and he was actually going there to play music. Elvis, great impressionist! Great singer and a tremendous style. hmm yeh street music, we got like 100kr in 2.5 hours, I'll stick with the supermarket's.
I asked around but camping is forbidden here but I've put tent behind a huge closed building and someone else has their tent here too. I plan to leave the dogs here and go with the bicycle to check out again for maybe a better place. Got a gram of Chem Kush as soon as possible on arrival, which is very yum.


Whilst cycling through Coppenhagen city, I had no clue where I was going and decided to ask a guy who was cycling along side me what way to Christiania.. He said he was going there anyway so I should just follow him. We ended up at one entrance and he said he was there to busk and so I sat with him and we each played a song in turns. If every person who had stopped to take a photo gave a kroner, It would have been worth doing, but well, us street performers seem to become something for Snapchat and its getting very hard to stand on a street and make money, no matter how good or loud you are.

It might sound scary to outsiders and "Normal People" but if you go there you will meet all very nice people and have a good time. Its the meeting place for youngsters, stoners and tourists. There are many workshops there, including a huge bike repair shop. There's the General store, a few bars and places to get a Chai and buy souvenirs. I rocked up there happy as Larry, and found some of the long term residents to ask where the guest room was or a place to sleep and they said " There is none!". So much for solidarity!. I went around the premises to look for a place to put my tent but everywhere was somebody's garden, or not enough room for my huge tent. I found just outside the main center of Christania next to the water, a huge building that was very shut and quiet. I thought to look around the back to see what was there , and there was a lovely piece of flat ground to pitch my tent. There was already a small 2 man tent half standing on a pallet and I said hi but there was no one. It looked pretty much abandoned and it was wet inside from the storm's and so I decided that here was the best place, either that or some half abandoned construction site but it was all stony ground.
I had decided just to chill a while and get a siesta then go explore as it was my first time there.
As all great anarchist squats, its now very old this place and like other places, after 15 years the generation changes and the young ones aren't the same and what's left is a cool location with a squat feeling to it, but its just all for show these days for tourist's.
The first night I went back early to the tent to smoke and sleep. During the night the dogs started growling and I heard the zip of the other tent open. Somebody is actually using it?! Anyway I let Sniffy Bark a bit, I had no clue who the person was and to save any aggro that might be, it's good that they hear a dog growl from inside the newly placed tent.
In the morning it was around 6am and I sneezed, and then heard a voice say "Hi tent neighbor!" from the other tent. Nice. Good vibes..

I smoked and went back to sleep again and woke up some hours later with the sound of exited screams from children and the dog's were gone from inside the tent. There were a bunch of maybe 6 year olds playing with the dog's. What a way to wake up, I poked my head out of the tent and saw a small army of them, around 20 at least. In the midst of this, I met my tent neighbor and I've completely forgotten his special name (some hippy name..). He was a white guy dressed almost like Jesus would have if he was not going anywhere special, plus with a small turban on his head.
I turned out that the building was actually an aquarium! I went to find the dog's who were inside this huge barn like building, and inside I turned into a big kid myself and couldn't help but not listen to the teacher and go check out the huge tanks. What a cool surprise, you would have never guessed that there was a sea life happening in that seemingly closed down building. We got told off by the teacher and promised we would move our tents (haha yeh right!) and we went to the center again to go chill out and ended up getting squeezed in a bar where it was cool to skin up joints and smoke. It was pissing it down again outside so we sat for hours on end getting incredibly wasted. The room was thick with ganja smoke and everyone in the room must have been stoned even non smokers.
At some point the tent neighbor came and found me in the evening as we had got split up, and introduced me to this danish kid who was on his way somewhere to work. He was in an one-sy waterproof reflective material with a rucksack and was stuck for the night for a place to sleep. He was very exhausted and wanted a place to rest and so of course I said that we could go straight away to my tent and he could rest there.
We sat in my tent chatting and it turned out that he was a street magerzine seller and had come to Coppenhagen to sell magazines, but was counting on there being a place to sleep for guests - and he hadn't slept in two nights. Cool guy. I can never refuse to help someone who is traveling, and has nowhere to sleep as I am often in those situations myself. Solidarity. The most important word withing the anarchist scene. He set up his bed and I let him sleep and went back to the center to find tent neighbor. We had a late night and it was nice to go back to the tent. The next day it just rained the whole day and nothing much happened!

Later in the evening, I left the dogs at the tent to keep guard and went off on foot to explore. I had counted the money and I calculated (with a fair price I found good to bargain with) I could get 30 grams, which should last me to Oslo. Of course I didn't go buy from the first place I saw. If you don't know about this place, they have or did have should I say (is it still there?!) "Pusher Street" where there we stands of anonymous people selling hash and weed set up like a coffeeshop with menus on the counter. The second time I came here was 5 minutes after a police raid had just finished, and I had no clue but could tell that something wasn't right because everything was destroyed and hardly no people around. I sat to make a joint and someone in a mask came other and told me "are you crazy you cant do that here!" - "why the fuck not" I replied.. "Don't you know, a policeman was just shot and we had the biggest raid ever just happen.." Fuck that, I thanked him and walked of as quick as I could. I was literally only there for 5 minutes from getting out a car in the nearest street! And 5 minutes after the police had left.

christiania-shooting.jpgImg

One of the stands where you buy smoke, this was after the raid when the fatal shooting happened


I went and got a hot drink, and asked for a discount to the cute woman that served me with the word's " any discount price for hobo's?" And she smiled and gave me it for free. I was surprised at how classy this cafe was, and then shocked that my cheekiness paid off. I sat for a while listening to a group of young back packers which was hilarious and drank the hot chocolate. I had got several grams of different greenery's and was waiting for this evening, before I was to leave to buy the lump. I waited for the day to calm down and at this point it had and so I went to find where I could get the best hash for the price I had in mind. I went back to the tent and got the money and to check on the dog's. I soon found a stand that wasn't on the main tourist road and went to see what they had and I realized that they were packing up. Zero-Zero was there among a few others and I had a look at it, and after deciding which one to take and taking my time about it, they seemed to get restless and tried to hurry me a bit thinking I was broke and would buy just a gram. I said I'd take the one I had in my hand and said I had money for 30 grams @ 60kr a gram. They soon lightened up on the macho tone and even passed me a joint they were smoking whilst one went to sort out a bit more as the lump on the table was short. If you go there, and want to buy weed or hash, then it will be intimidating because at each stand there is 4 big guys, and a pitbull or two, wearing masks and well they are pretty much gangsters you could say. Business is business, and fear keeps people from deciding to rob them which could easily happen if they didn't show force.


28th April 2016 Diary Entry

Lost track still of the date, I think its a Tuesday, I was in Christiania for 2 nights, one day it rained the whole day! Left there yesterday at 7am and now I'm In SWEDEN!

swedeem.GIF

HOPE YOU ENJOYING THIS AS MUCH AS I AM - TO HAVE THESE MEMORY'S COME BACK IS AWESOME!

CATCH THE NEXT PART SOON!

Recent post's.. Oldest first!



Sort:  

Christiania!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I haven't been to Denmark, but that's the first place I'd visit when I go!

Oh yeh you must go! You would love it :)

I love to travel this way <3

Yo! Check @canna-curate if you haven't done it yet! This a cannabis community project we're trying to get off the ground! You could benefit too. There are 2 posts explaining everything in detail.

cool im just strating to wirte up a post then ill check it out :)

Oh my God. R u travelling like this. Then what will happen about your health? And financial support is more important. All the best for your journey...

Yes of course! This was Normal 100 years ago if I swapped the bike for a horse in the story :) mmmBaaaaaa~!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

20 SBD Up For Grabs in the TF Cup! - learn more about the contest here 👈

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Hi @movingman!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemrepo - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Looking forward to reading the next part

Looking forward to reading the next part

Looking forward to reading the next part

Looking forward to reading the next part