Voyage to Colombia and a nasty surprise in the airport [Part 2]

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

A story about flying from Dominican Republic to Colombia despite all the efforts of airlines to prevent me from doing it.

Continued from: Voyage to Colombia and a nasty surprise in the airport [Part 1]


Registration and security checks went smooth this time, everything seemed to be alright.
But no, before the gates I was approached by an Avianca employee who told me they can't confirm my return ticket.
I had to find it in databases myself and insist on it being sufficient. After 5 minutes they had to retreat. And it still wasn't over.

15 minutes before departure they call my by airport loudspeaker. This time security could not x-ray my luggage.
Or so they claimed, it's the first time I encounter this issue. Then they brought my backpack and searched it so thoroughly as it has never been searched before.

They gutted every bag, put their noses everywhere they could.
And I couldn't do much, except having them to inspect my dirty clothes and making caustic remarks all the while as my time was running out.
I expected them to have problems with the kukri, but they never looked at it twice, probably looking for drugs.
But I ain't no fool to put my drugs in checked luggage.
Remember, kids, always put your drugs in the carry-on.

And finally, 2 minutes before departure, I boarded the damn plane.
Since then everything went smoothly, even Colombian migration who didn't even care for my return ticket.

In the airport of Bogota I met our Couchsurfing host, who drove me to his home where I reunited with my buddy Florian.

DSC04296.jpg

I liked Bogota a lot, and not solely because I have been dreaming of travelling South America for a long time.
The city is rich with history and is alive with contemporary culture, a lot of splendid street-art around.

DSC04502.jpg

DSC04330.jpg


A real art, not some half-assed wall-staining.

DSC04475.jpg

DSC04507.jpg


Right now Bogota enjoys a cultural renaissance, grafiteros are allowed to practice their art and both govt and private companies sometimes commission artists to decorate buildings in the capital.
Many artists are still work in underground, though. They maintain their non-conformity and liberty of expression by creating paintings at night in places that were not supposed to be decorated.

DSC04569.jpg

DSC04575.jpg


And even as the city infested with cops and police dogs, when walking around you will inevitably smell unmistakable smoke of marijuana.
Especially near universities and parks. Near Universidad de los Andes there is a lawn where smoking pot is kinda legal, and it is actively used by students who chill there every afternoon, consuming profound amounts of pot which is next to free here.
The police looks the other way. But to really miss this place you should also close your nose.

DSC04345.jpg

DSC04352.jpg


It is also important to note that it's quite cheap here, especially in comparison with Dominican Republic where hostel prices start at 15$ and in Bogota they are around 6$.
And it applies to everything else as well.

I realized right away that I want to stay there longer, to take some rest and live in that atmosphere for a while.
That, however, was against what Flo was planning, so I chose to part ways with him for a while.
Thus I stayed in Bogota and he went to Peru.

And so ends my story about travelling from the Caribbean to South America, which cost me a lot of time, money and was a terrible experience all around.
Now what?

More photos:
DSC04305.jpg

Bolivar Plaza


DSC04314.jpg


DSC04423.jpg


DSC04429.jpg

Just 4$


DSC04444.jpg


DSC04494.jpg


DSC04532.jpg


DSC04516.jpg

View from my hostel terrace


DSC04542.jpg


DSC04599.jpg

Panorama view from Monserrate mountain

If you liked this post, consider giving it an upvote or resteem. Follow me for more cool stuff and stay loco!

Check out my travel blog as well!

Previous posts:
Stylish water faucet in an ancient Persian bathhouse
Voyage to Colombia and a nasty surprise in the airport [Part 1]
Japanese aesthetics in Dominican Republic
Architectural Photography: Ornate Bazaar ceiling in Kashan, Iran

Sort:  

Very beautiful the photo of the city from the Monserrate Mountain ... I have been in Bogota for work reasons, although for many years I have not returned, and it is certainly a flat city, very beautiful, very pleasant climate, with a variety of alternatives for the enjoyment and with very educated people. Very good your choice, after having overcome all the obstacles in the flight from the Dominican Republic that we hope will not appear in the next connections. Greetings @ nameless-berk.

I saw you made great adventures and I can learn something from your works. I follow you now, @nameless-berk.

How nice that you still allowed to land. So there would not have been a wonderful story about Bogota.
Thank you for your wonderful stories and photos.

Hermoso lugar!

I met Bogota a few years ago and I loved it, its museums, its squares, its historical center and its climate, everything was perfect, I didn't manage to perceive the smell of marijuana, maybe I didn't pass by those places, if I saw many policemen, so that you don't feel bad, they also made me have a bad time in the airport :) greetings
My English is not very good, I use a translator

what a great place, I wanted to go, it looks beautiful and more if I have it relatively close

love the work you put in! always like to read post off fellow-travelers, hope your 16 will increase fast! have a good one

That plate of food looks awesome!
What's that church below it? Beautiful anyway!
Thanks for sharing your experiences.
 

I'm not sure, dude, I just happened to encounter it while roaming Bogota

Nice place to visit thank you for sharing

Thank you for an interesting story. Of course the city impresses with its colors on the walls of houses.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 20:22:32
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 441.64/800.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 30
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=voyage-to-colombia-and-a-nasty-surprise-in-the-airport-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness