You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cresswell Crags - A wander around the Ice Age Caves and Limestone Gorge

in #adventure6 years ago

This was extremely interesting! I don't go out exploring much (I don't think there is a lot to explore in Malta, anyway), so this was an exciting journey. It is a shame that you need to go with a tour to get to the good stuff. I personally hate tours - freedom is an integral part of being an explorer, in my opinion. You never know how much history lies within the paths that you take. All those animals and artefacts dating to so many years- it makes you wonder how many undiscovered things may lie around.

Sort:  

It's a protection thing I guess, being able to freely access them would ruin what has taken thousands of years to develop. I could probably arrange a less public tour through a caving club but there are far better places that they would probably take preference over when spending their much valued budget (just not as local to me).

Yeah, I understand the protection thing. It's still a shame. Now if you could go on a 'tour' just you two and a tour guide that will show you what you want etc, a less standardised and more personalised tour, that would be cool!