Thai Monocled Cobra

in #adventure6 years ago

This Cobra was tangling with a Thai mongoose when I first saw it. Surprisingly, the mongoose went into the forest when I stopped, unusual behavior because mongooses (or is it mongeese?) are fearless, their disposition is the same as a honey badger. Thai Cobras are different in appearance than King Cobras and the Cobras found in China. By the way, I'm using a 300 MM zoom, I am not real close to Mr Snake. Actually, the Kraits, Malaysian Pit Vipers and the Russel Viper are more venomous than the Cobras.

Would appreciate an upvote. THANX!monocledcobra.jpg

Sort:  

That is not a monocle cobra but an Indo-Chinese rattlesnake from its eyes and head shape as well as the color of its scales. Very aggressive snake but no venom but can take some flesh out of your arm or leg. Monocle cobra is darker and they always have the Monocle on their back.

Thanks, I went by what I was told by another person who stopped when I stopped. The absence of rattles would have fooled me, but the rattlesnakes I'm familiar with all have rattles, and venom.

It is different over here it does not look like the rattlesnakes of the USA and all the so-called rattlesnakes from Thailand are not venomous. But who knows with 178 species and a few new discoveries they may find a rattlesnake with venom. When this snake is young it looks different with some strips on the body but when becoming an adult it changed little like chromed like in your picture. Good picture :)