Stealth van build!!!!

in #adventure7 years ago

Everyone needs a holiday right?!

I am in the process of turning a commercial van into a camper that I can either stay in parks or stealth park and have some free nights in the more remote areas.

After looking at multiple pics on Instagram and the alike I have come up with this plan. The plan is the have a van awning tent off the side (pictured) to have more standing room, table chairs and the bbq etc when staying for longer periods.

If anyone has any ideas or input please let me know, we will be touring around Australia for up to 6 months with the dog!

For your reference the kitchen is at the front of the van behind the drivers seat.

Can't wait to share all my adventures with you all! :)

van still.PNGvan still 1.PNGvan 2.PNGawning.jpg

Sort:  

What Van is it? :D
I've wanted to do something like this for a while, also toured in vans and traveled a little in campers. From what I've researched you'll constantly be rebuilding and adjusting different aspects as you go and learn what works best for you. Your plan/layout looks reliable and what most of the commercially setup vans run.

Probably most important thing I've learnt from YouTube builders and articles is to use sealed materials when building to avoid moisture and in turn mould! Which can make you really sick. So like timber lined walls are a no no even though they look so nice. Unless you want to go through the trouble of properly sealing both sides of the wood.
And in turn ventilation is important - I've seen exhaust fans be installed in the back in the roof - and then they crack the front window (they have those plastic wind deflector so it hides the open window) for fresh air in and humid air out from the fan. (Hopefully makes sense)

Mercedes Sprinter! I have been looking at Ford Transit but the sprinter seems to be a bit higher.

Yeah there seems to be problems with leaking especially into the insulation.

For ventilation I'm thinking the exhaust fan idea. I am putting solar on top too so just figuring out where everything is going to go!