Adventures of Simplicity #4 Is bad friend your enemy?

Those few who are closest to us have the greatest impact on our way of thinking.

By exploring minimal lifestyle, I started to question different areas in my life. I came to surprising realization. We can and we should declutter our relationships.

helena-lopes-459331.jpg

How many of your relationships are inspiring for you? How many of the recent meetings and discussions were motivating, special or unforgetable ?

We are also often maintaining stagnating or unhealthy relationships without realization. It's crucial to have awerness about our time. Would you stop for a minute and give your relationships a thought.

You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.
-Jim Rohn

For example I had one friend from childhood. We used to meet from time to time. She always talked about her problems. She never brought any new inspirational topic nor talked about new ideas or experiences. I had to initialize all discussions. In the end I wasn't looking forward the meetings anymore. I was tired and drained afterwards. I couldn't decline meeting. I couldn't say no.

I value my time highly. Life is often difficult so I don't need more negativity in my free time. I can choose how I spend my time. I would prefer spending evenings with friends who are inspirational and motivational. Who are not afraid to try new things. Friends with who I don't have to drink alcohol with to have a fun.

I have never regreted my decision to stop that communication and to end that relationship.

This can be also applied here on Steemit with followers. If you are careful, who you follow, you can build your own valuable feed, which will inspire you. If you follow blindly, you are dehonasting your own time and your account. After some time you will lose enthusiasm to read, as it will be harder to find quality content.

By freeing some time you will have more space for new friendships. And believe me, there is huge amount of people you would love to meet. ;)

It's great how mininalism can bring awerness. Give us courage, new reasons and new ways to improve our lives.

By maintaining only quality relationships we bring more value to our lives. I encourage you to simplify your relationships.

We are being shaped by every person we spend time with.

Choose wisely.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ladywoodi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ok, i see what you mean about minimalism in relationships (following your comet on my post). I can see that working with the ones we choose. Of course there are also those we don't as well - family and colleagues. As For steemit - I'm way too new to be that cluttered. Maybe in time.

Maybe ;-) Wexlome on Steemit and good luck with posting and photography :-)