Adventures Of Simplicity #5 Beyond the Comfort Zone

Comfort Zone represents behavioral psychological space of security, rutines and predictability.

When we do something new, we are stepping out of the comfort zone. Price for that can be fear, anxiety, scary feeling of unknown or just very uncomfortable feeling.

pexels-photo-672358.jpeg

When we are about to do something uncomfortable, we tend to procrastinate. We can easily find plenty of things to be busy with, so we can delay difficult task. We are able to create tenths of reasons why not to do it now. Or find plenty of excuses why not to do it at all.

Only One

That is the reason why so many articles about effective work recommend us to write top five goals. Identify the most important task of the day and WRITE it down.

Writing down makes such a huge difference. Seeing it on the paper reminds you every time you look at it. And the more you procrastinated with being busy, the more you know, you are not moving in the direction, you really want to go.

It's really important to remember simplicity. We have energy and courage to leave comfort zone only at one place. That's the reason to really focus on that one and only goal you desire the most.

Boundaries

There was small quite part of you, dreaming this big dream and thinking about it daily. Your deepest hidden wish. Hidden behind a curtain of busy life.

The virtual border, which we create ourselves and is our biggest limitation. The border we feed daily. The layer that grows with our fears. The Comfort Zone Boundary.

Golden Golem

The last enemy you will fight before crossing the border is money. However, we will always find some way to manage, to earn. When you become minimalist, you don't need much anymore. Your savings can cover months of your life journey towards the dream. Just don't let the money guide your life decision. Working 40 hours a week. Being tired in evenings. And compensate lack of your passion with buying clothes and items, which give you a false idea, that you have reached at least some life standard. What a sad life standard. What a sad life that would be.

Reward

Dealing with Unknown and Fears is a price you pay, when you exit the comfort zone.

Bigger the price is, bigger the reward is. And there is always a reward.

  • When we get use to new things or activities we expand our comfort zones
  • We enjoy great new experiences and activities
  • We have challenged our limits. We can be proud.
  • With bigger comfort zone, we have much more possible resources for happiness
  • We become wiser and more experienced
  • We become less nervous and more confident
  • When winning over one fearful things, we minimize impact of our other fears
  • We become more content and strong
  • We have tried. Nevertheless the result, we will know for the rest of the life, how it was and that we have been trying

Less Fear means more Happiness

Our life will become more simple.

  • No boundaries set up by fear.
  • More choices for happiness.
  • Less fights to fight.
  • Progress.
  • Less obstacles in direction of our dreams.

It took me several years to find courage to make bigger life decisions. It took me months to learn how to expand comfort zone with my diary of challenges, where I have written every single fear or dream I had. I had to become a minimalist to be able to save money. It took me months of motivational and mentoring youtube videos and blogs articles. It took me to really differentiate and simplify which dreams I really want to achieve and which places I really want to visit. I have simplified my journey so much, that suddenly it became realizable.

And it took me to learn to be grateful for what I have. Without it I would not appreciate my dream life now. As strange as it sounds, I have been dreaming about my current lifestyle years before. I realize it, only when I have been reading my old dream notes.

What about you? What is your life story, you are writing for yourself?

knot-1532985_640.jpg

What a funny thing this comfort zone. You want to be inside, but cool things you want are outside.

Sort:  

Cool and thought-provoking post. Some parts are revolutionary for me, some are well known :)

I am happy to hear that. :-) I am curious how other people see and fight with comfort zone as usually all our dreams are outside.

Great post, thanks!

Fan of minimalism too? :-) Welcome on Steemit.

Yes, I am. I would even say that minimalism actually turned my whole life around. Crazy how just owning fewer​ things changes how you think in so many ways :)

Yes. I totally agree.