Adventures Of Simplicity #8 Stages of minimalism

Minimalism is addictive. Once you try it, you just cannot go back to consumerism.

pexels-photo-799420.jpeg

There are many stages of minimalism. With simplicity we transform ourselves. We have to question our deepest beliefs. We grow and become more self-aware.

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
-Leonardo da Vinci

In a process of change I have identified several stages of minimalism.

Phase I:

  1. Decluttering
  2. Pause and more decluttering waves ( I own t-shirts that have 10 years and still are like new. I am afraid my clothes will live longer than me. )
  3. Love for that freeing feeling of having less junk
  4. Shopping ban challenge (great test of what is really needed)
  5. Minimizing all expanses (there is huge difference of what we need and what we think we need. Often I have to try to live without the item or activity, to know the real answer. I have done many challenges like 30days without beer, sweets, books, ...)
  6. Minimalism inspirational reading for new ideas

II.

  1. Creating a minimalist life filosophy
  2. Simplifying hobbies and free time activities
  3. Relationships and minimalism
  4. Converting relatives to minimalism
  5. Accepting that relatives don't want minimalism in their lives
  6. Persuading relatives to not to buy us things and gifts (at least without asking first )

III.

  1. Simplification of priorities to know true values and focusing on them
  2. Goals snd dreams simplification. To identify clear steps and plan towards them. Simplification brings clarity.
  3. Leaving daily job to pursue happiness and passion (my own apps, work and travel, home enterpreneurship, starting with crypto and steemit writing, writing about minimalism).
    16 . Minimalism with the baby and family ( Whole new level of challenge ;-))
  4. ??
    ...

Now I am curious what will be next.

What stages of minimalism have You experienced? I would be eager to hear the difference in your transformation towards the minimalism.

Simple can be harder than complex: You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it’s worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains.
-Steve Jobs

Sort:  

I envy the minimalist mentality. It comes with clarity, and surely I could use a few lessons in simplifying.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Cool, provocative thoughts here. Keep writing, I am totally paying attention.

Thank you so much for an encouragement :-) Minimalism has underestimated power. :-)

“Love for the freeing feeling of having less junk” this is awesome. I have sensed it many times already. Despite im not minimalist myself, it is great to feel free and disidentitfied from things you cling to.

Minimalist thinkers? Is it some steemian group? Or do you have any special recommendation? I would appreciate that.

Ah, now I see. Thanks to your comment, you have inspired me to write some recommendations. I have written article https://steemit.com/adventuresofsimplicity/@ladywoodi/heroes-of-minimalism .

Hopefully you will like it. :-)
Efficinetly using our potential can be really satisfying.