Adventure Time Has Come to an End

in #adventuretime6 years ago (edited)


Image courtesy of EskiPaper.com

Come along with me
And the butterflies and bees
We can wander through the forest
And do so as we please.

It's over folks. Adventure Time has finally come to a close after nearly a decade of wacky fun and surprisingly deep storytelling.


My girlfriend watched Adventure Time from the moment it first premiered in 2010, and we sat and watched the final episode together tonight. I just recently sat down and started watching it with her, and over the last month, I've gone from season one all the way to the end. It didn't hit me quite as hard as it hit her, but I have to say I am really, really sad it's gone.

For the longest time, I never gave this show a shot. It came on Cartoon Network around the same time I stopped watching cartoons. I lumped it in with other wacky shows that seemed superficially without any kind of story or cohesion, so I wrote it off. Then, as fate would have it, I met an incredible woman, and she introduced me to the show.

I was really surprised by just how much world building and storytelling the writers packed into the show. Sure, there are plenty of episodes that are just that: episodes. They're not directly connected to the overarching story. However, the overarching story is amazing, and it seeps into every part of the show. Despite its childlike style and bizarre setting, it's full of deeply serious subject matter and a haunting backstory. Makes me think of something a child would draw after experiencing years of chaos, trying his best to get back to normal.

For those of you who haven't seen the show, it follows a 13-year-old boy named Finn and his dog, Jake. Finn is, as far as he knows, the last human in the world, which was ravaged by a devastating nuclear and biological war a thousand years prior known as the Great Mushroom War. His dog Jake not only talks but stretches to ridiculous lengths and virtually whatever shape he wants to. And he's got a hell of a sense of humor. All this is set in the backdrop of the Land of Ooo, what remains of the old world now populated by talking animals, sapient candy, a deranged wizard named the Ice King, and all manner of strange and crazy creatures.

The show follows Finn and Jake, but it's full of contemplation on any number of deep themes. Ice King's backstory is a strikingly compelling look at what dealing with a loved one suffering from mental illness can be like. Marceline, the Vampire Queen, is a study in emotional struggle. Princess Bubblegum illustrates the danger of being obsessed with your work at the expense of all emotional attachment. There are episodes that consider the character's own mortality and the meaning of family. Meaning-of-life-and-the-universe stuff, man.

Aside from it being a genuinely entertaining show, as a writer I really appreciate the subtlety that's employed to weave all of these stories together. Things like the Great Mushroom War are mentioned from time to time, but you'd have to watch the entire show to really appreciate the level of detail dedicated to it. Same goes with a character as zany and ridiculous as the Ice King. At first glance, he's a crazy old wizard who serves as a comically evil foil for our protagonists. Keep watching the show and you discover a truly tragic story that makes you root for him, and it ties it back to the cataclysm that ended our world. There's a deep, rich world behind the Land of Ooo that you appreciate more with every episode.

If you haven't ever watched it, I strongly recommend hopping on Hulu and binging it. It's fun, it's hilarious, but most of all, it's a rewarding story that I absolutely love.




If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see the first text box, and type in the name "noblewitness"!
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet, Steem Romania, and the Fiction Workshop on the Writer's Block.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.libertynineline.com/2018/09/05/adventure-time-has-come-to-an-end/
Sort:  

This cartoon is beyond this universe. Script was damn awesome. feeling sad to hear that adventure time gonna b end ;(

Oh man, me too. I came to it recently, but it really drew me in. I'm gonna miss Finn and Jake.

hindi dubbing was also great man.. Dialogue was like i was talking to my best buddy like finn and jake do same!

well done my dear friend, very nice article.

Yeah I bawled. Even though nothing particularly sad happened in the final episodes(though there certainly were emotional moments), I was just overwhelmed with emotion that it was actually over. Im still sad about it. Boo!

Personally, I've always loved how the show handles masculinity. Jake is unapologetically masculine, and isn't emasculated or punished for it - it's just who he is, and he sometimes benefits from it and sometimes suffers for it. The other characters seem to love and value him for who he is without constantly trying to change him. He's not afraid of vulnerability, but values strength and always tries to be strong. As the father of a 10 year old boy, this has always been touching to me, and a wonderful example of what it means to be a man, or at least, what it means to try and become one.

Adventure Time is a wonderful show, filled with more nuance and wisdom than most would admit. I'm sad to see it end, but so very happy that it ever was. Thanks for your post.

You know, the more I think about it, the more I appreciate that perspective. He really is an ideal masculine figure. He's strong without being cruel. He's assertive without being mean (except when it's kinda funny because of context). His beliefs are deeply-rooted in helping people, no matter the cost. He doesn't do it for the glory. Finn really is a great role model for boys and young men.

Thanks for that thoughtful insight. :)

Congratulations @anarcho-andrei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @anarcho-andrei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support!

Adventure Time is one of those shows that puts me right into my comfort zone; so well done and wholesome!