How to Hire an Graphic Designer. Written by a Copywriter.

in #advertsing4 years ago (edited)

fwp66f1hnr.jpg

I once had to hire an art director.*

After narrowing it down to 6 candidates, I gave each of them an assignment.

A print ad.

All I gave them was a brief and some copy.

The first applicant’s ad was stunning.

Seriously, it was incredible.

But I didn’t hire him.

The second one also created a great ad.

But I didn’t hire her either.

The same thing happened with candidates 3, 4 and 5.

Why?

You see, I purposely put two typos in the copy.

One obvious. The other, not so obvious.

None of them corrected the obvious typo. Or asked about the other one.

They simply cut and pasted it into their design.

The sixth applicant was different.

She sent an email asking about the not-so-obvious typo.

Somehow, I missed her email.

But when it came time to submit her work, she submitted two versions.

One with the not-so-obvious typo, and one without (along with a note explaining why and which one she thought was right).

The obvious typo was fixed in both of them.

When I asked her why she did that she responded: ”it’s a team effort.”

Candidates 1-5 all pretty much responded down the party line.

“That’s not my job.”**

Well, at least they were right about one more thing.

*Before you ask, this is not my story. But I do have permission to post it like it was.

** This not to excuse typos. The irony of judging a candidate based on an employee's mistakes is not list in me.

Sort:  

Hello obercreative, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Congratulations @obercreative! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!