How I Learnt A New Language In 5 Months: DO YOU KNOW ALL OF THESE TRICKS?!

in #advice7 years ago

Hello, Steemit. Today will be the day I reveal my secret on how to learn a new language FROM SCRATCH and become FLUENT in 5 months.

Here is my story in nutshell:
I learnt Italian starting from February, knowing nothing about its letters and even "Ciao". I wouldn't say it's perfect right know, but I think I reached that level, where you can freely communicate with people. Italian is my 5th language learned so far and I must say that I had many hardships learning English, as I had little experience of learning new languages back then.

So, I'm sharing my tips and tricks learnt from years of struggle 😅 in hope of helping fellow steemers, who might also be interested in foreign languages.
#4. Like/follow Facebook pages, which are in the language you want to learn.

I realised that the tools that helped me to transition my intermediate English to the level, where I could easily understand the basics of Politics, Science and History were not the lessons taught in high school years, but Facebook. YEP. Mastering a new language is directly correlated to how much time we spend using it.
Are you bored of textbooks, audio lessons, home works, but really want to learn a foreign language? Then this is for YOU. Just like the pages, whose contents are interesting to you and written in the language you want to learn. According to Mark Zuckerberg, people spend more than 40 minutes a day on Facebook. (2014) And this is only an average. If you are like me, who always surpasses the numbers, then you are not to lose. The number of languages we speak can increase the odds of getting a job, so you are literally working for your future, by laughing at memes. WHAT A TIME TO BE ALIVE.

Some people judge us about the amount of time we spend on Social media, but who's laughing now, ... right?😈
#3. Learn the rules.

So, this might be the boring part. But it is also one of the most important ones. In 6th grade I had to change my English classes from Upper intermediate to Intermediate, because my English really got worse. Luckily, my new teacher was amazing at explaining grammar rules and in the span of 1 year I transformed from the kid, who couldn't see the difference between do, does, to a person, who started to participate in English Language Olympiads as her confidence started to rise. Studying the rules will really help you understand the structure of a language and save you a lot of time, even if it doesn't feel like it.
#2. Watch Movies/Tv shows, cartoons - whatever you are interested in.

Remember I talked about how you can learn a language by laughing at memes, right? Well, this is similar to that part, except it can help you improve you listening skills and pronunciation.STUDYING DOESN'T ALWAYS MEAN SUFFERING. Why not make it enjoyable? You may not notice that you are improving, while watching movies, but you definitely are. Trust me.
#1. Read OH MY GOD, THE VERY BEST, HOLY GODDNESS OF ALL LANGUAGES, manga.
THIS SHIT SAVED MY LIFE. If it wasn't for manga I wouldn't have joined Steemit and wouldn't be writing this post at the moment. For some reason I had so many difficulties learning English, which is a second language of the world, but saw the boost of my fluency after reading manga for just 1-2 months. (I am using this tactic to also improve my Italian at the moment😋 .) If you don't like anime, manga or anything of this sort, I would say be patient and choose one that may interest you. I advise watching anime first, because it really allows you to understand how exciting and awesome they can be. And then read their comic versions, manga, which are translated to so many languages.
Why manga? Because the speeches are divided in little chunks and also written in everyday language, unlike other normal books. Yeah, after you read them you will get what I mean.

Well, that was the story of how I improved my foreign languages. Hope you enjoyed it. Good luck!😇

Sources: https://images.google.com/

Sort:  

Thanks for the great tips, I hadn't thought about following other language pages on FB...that makes lots of sense!

Yep. :> Always glad to help 🤗