My Simple Advice To New Users Who Are Unsure What To Post!..... Take Your Time! .....Good Things Come To Those Who Wait! :)

in #advice7 years ago

)

If you have just joined steemit and don't yet know what you are going to post, then......

.....don't post anything! :{)

Take a little time to look at some of the posts that others have already submitted, leave a few thoughtful comments that relate to the post and it's contents and find a few good blogs to follow yourself.

Those that you are genuinely interested in and have enjoyed!

This will help you make some valuable connections in the community and will likely reward you with your first few followers and probably some rewards also for your comments. In the long run, these are the kind of followers you want to have. Ones that are actually going to take an interest in your posts..

Don't be fooled into thinking that the more followers you have the more rewards you will receive.

This is not the case!

Don't let the urge to make your first post overwhelm you!.

If you allow yourself a little time you will soon find that steemit is a place where inspiration abounds and there is a muse around every corner. If you don't know what you want to post right now, you soon will.

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait! :)

That's all the advice I have for now!

Hope everyone is having an excellent day! :{)

tonyr banner.gif

Sort:  

Yes! This is a place that requires you to work it. (Notice I didn't say work.) little by little, it's great to see progress and make friends along the way. I may get a map and put pushpins in where I feel like I connected.

You know that is sage advice. I spent my first week reading and commenting. Most likely well over one hundred comments before I wrote my introduction post. It is a great way to earn some Steem before you post yourself as well which will help you when you begin posting.

Steemit is my first experience of blogging and pretty much my introduction to social media other than youtube and I came here without a clue what I was doing but by taking the time to read and comment on the work of others I was able to make some good friends who were happy to support me. I did join to share my drawings so had something in mind to post but didn't have a clue (and still don't really) about how the whole thing works. There's always someone willing to offer some helpful advice though! :{)

Have a great day my friend and thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my post!

This is absolutely brilliant advice, I honestly wish that I had read it when I started out on Steemit, the platform looks as though it is a money making machine. It isn't, you will ultimately be completely demoralised and will not enjoy your Steemit experience.

Instead as @tonyr explains in this post, please take your time to make connections and enjoy the wealth of creativity here. You will find your voice and be more enriched as a result .

I have been really lucky just writing what I know and being myself. Good advice from a 55-ish early on.

Thanks for taking the time to comment @tkkinney. I've just checked out your blog and you have a new follower my friend. I look forward to getting a chance to go over it properly and also seeing what you have to say in future.

Hope your day is going well! :{)

You are right. To me it's like writing in a diary. LOL! Share things etc..

Nice post I agree. Take your time and learn before you post. Thanks for sharing your advice on what to post.

no problem @joinshinell! Glad you liked it and hope you have a great time here on steemit.

Have a great day my friend!

I will. Thank you! Same goes for you!

Nice post, thank you.
Things just seems not worth it. When you see posts at $2000 and your posts at $0.02 then waiting is your best option

You are most welcome @mahsel. Don't be put off by not earning any rewards. If you post about the things that interest you and take the time to comment on the posts you enjoy, you will soon find that the reward comes in the interaction with others and in time you will find an appreciative audience for your own work.

And with more and more people joining steemit every day it may be that what you are posting now and not having much success with will change in the near future as more users join who are interested in the your posts.

Those on the trending pages at the moment are big fish in a small pond but this pond is about to get bigger and the dynamic of the users and popular subject matter is changing. What is making big money now may not always be and what is making relatively nothing now could be making a lot more in future as more users interested in these topics join. :)

Stay positive my friend!

Hope your day is going well!

They had to start somewhere too!

Sure thing.

I agree. Make it simple until they can max that part of the reward. :-D

I have to wait for my voting power to amp up a bit, but I was excited about a follower I led to you...when you see my color challenge friday post, you'll see that I promoted some steemians on it (you at the top of the list my friend) and the beautiful, graceful and talented opheliafu took one look at your portrait and signed on. Yay!

I've just noticed her comments but saw yours as well and had to come to you first. :) You are always too kind to me. :)

I was just thinking about you actually because I saw that you are entering @merej99's contest. I'm having a go myself as I want to start posting more regularly and despite having an opinion about everything, I'm struggling to actually find anything decent to write about so hoping to give myself a kick up the 'arse'. :)

Not sure about exactly what is expected though so if you don't mind I might have to ask for a little advice. :)

I'm just going to reply to @opheliafu and then I'm going to check out your colorchallenge post and see what nice things you've been saying about me. :)

Hope you're having a good one! :)