Aeon CPU Hashrate with "Huge Pages" on Win 10

in #aeon6 years ago

I am still new to the crypto mining world, but have been learning a lot. For CPU mining, Aeon seems to be a great play, so I have been setting up my own local pool with my various PC's.

I wanted to share my experience with enabling the "Huge Pages" option that is available in Windows 10 Pro. I stumbled across a post (linked below) with instructions on how to set it up, and I wanted to see if I would achieve similar results with Aeon. I have an Intel machine and an AMD machine, and tried it on both.

I am happy to report that my results were very good in my 2 Windows 10 Pro rigs! I would highly recommend that everyone mining Aeon (and Monero) should try enabling this if you run Windows Pro. Here are my specific results:

Intel i7-6700 @ 3.40 GHz; Windows 10 Pro; XMRig 2.4.5, 3 threads at 75%

  • Without Huge Pages: H/s max = 642.7
  • Huge Pages ENABLED: H/s max = 842.3
  • (improvement of 31%)

AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.40 GHz; Windows 10 Pro; XMRig 2.4.5, 8 threads at 90%

  • Without Huge Pages: H/s max = 1718.7
  • Huge Pages ENABLED: H/s max = 2063.0
  • (improvement of 20%)

Note, that these numbers come directly from the XMRig miner output. Both are running the stock cpu settings (no over-clocking). I keep the Intel pc at a max 75% cpu usage, because it is used for other things as well. I may try to over-clock the Ryzen someday to see what it will do.

I also have 2 Linux boxes running in my pool, but have not done a comparison yet, with huge pages on Linux. I may do that for an addendum to this post later.

And finally, here is the post which tells how to enable huge pages on Windows 10. It is point #1 down in the post, and it is very easy to accomplish.
https://steemit.com/monero/@tobiasrieper/improve-your-cpu-monero-xmr-mining-up-to-20-with-huge-pages

Thanks, and happy mining!