You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: June ProgBlog #2: Blender 2.92 notes - udim tiles

in #aer3 years ago

I thought Udims were lower poly models for different distances within the scene to save on computation time. I'm just realising there is so much to learn in Blender.
Have you seen the new Unreal Engine 5 videos? I am really amazed at what they can do in realtime

Sort:  

Those are lod (level of detail) models :) I kind of fudge that with the subdivision surface modifier as I basically make models with enough polys to deform nicely and hold the shape I want, then subd modifier so it looks like it might be a higher poly model, and do everything else with normal maps (which I actually hate making x_x).

I stick with probably lower than I should because higher poly ones don't deform well like this one from ages ago

where you can see the collapse lines where the weight mapping has gone awry.

The weight mapping can be corrected but there were other things wrong with the topology and also trying to move it around the viewport just on its own was agonising so it got redone lower poly with subd modifier.

They're otherwise things I haven't really had to worry about because I do very little in realtime. When I'm animating a lot of things everything that has subd gets the viewport levels turned down to 1 or 0 (render level is at 2 or 3 depending on what it is).

Once upon a time I may have see the new UE5 videos because I liked having an idea what was going on in the industry, these days I basically know about anything directly connected to my project and only if I've had to do it or need to do it x_x