You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: April ProgBlog #1: the insidious GAPS!

in #aer2 years ago

Yes, Tumbleweed also periodically drops a big release. KDE6 will drop soon, which will mean upgrading nearly everything.

I finally after years of urging, had my girlfriend hand over her laptop for me to install Linux. So I can do two updates at once, with one USB stick.

The only reason she gave in, was M$ are soon dropping support for whatever Windoz version was installed. As promised, she doesn't even notice she's using Linux, since her computer usage is very limited.

Another soul and computer saved! Hellajula! Praise be Linux! 😁

Sort:  

LoL yay XD

I hope KDE6 fixes some bugs I'm having with some widgets.

and that the concentric circles display also gets updated because that's all of my widgets except for the network speed graph which is still a line chart because it doesn't work any other other way XD

I was going to throw linux on my aunty's laptop because I honestly could not tell you what the hell she was doing to it but I was fixing it almost every time I was over. Fortunately my mum gave her an iPad which made tech supporting so much easier.

KDE6 has better GPU support I believe.

I don't know what you have to keep fixing on your Aunty's laptop. I installed Linux on my gf's laptop (10 years old now) and it just works. Other than having to hunt down some drivers in the beginning. There's been no issues.

Nothing now, she got the iPad before I had to make that decision so I think the laptop is just in storage. I could probably do it now but I'm not sure I want to fight that particular battle if I don't need to XD

If people are silly enough to enslave themselves to Apple, let them suffer.

I think Microsoft is worse, but only because I have two Apple devices in my toolkit that haven't given me problems unlike the endless litany of struggle of doing anything at all with Windows and Android XD

He he, wait until you finally do have problems with your Apple products. Then you're screwed. You'll pay through the nose or be force to buy a new product.

Did you know the reason Apple pushed the cordless / wireless earphones? Because people are prone to lose one or both of them. You're stuck with buying new ones.

I'll stick with buying value for money hardware, and installing Linux. 😀

Ooh flame war, haven't laughed at one of them for a while XD