February ProgBlog #1: moving at glacial speed

in #aer3 years ago (edited)

I managed to draw up a rough schedule to try and fit everything in, and am fully prepared to shuffle stuff around. At the moment hive and Duolingo are my biggest time sinks, going well over the hour each I've allotted them; hive because it's hive and there's a bit going on plus I'm supposed to be moderating a couple of communities and I'm doing a terrible job even looking at them never mind anything else, Duolingo because I was finding it easy so I gave myself a challenge of getting to the next level each time instead of just doing one stack, and then got a thing where it wanted me to use the keyboard instead of the word bank, and I found out the hard way that I've been sight reading Chinese and Japanese and haven't actually associated many sounds with characters.

So I guess from tomorrow I have to try hardcore focusing for the hour and just stop on whatever language I get to with Duolingo and kind of just pick at what's left of my feeds.

Now onto the not much stuff that did get done.

There are ceilings! The ceilings and floors have got electronics and insulation/soundproofing and stuff in them hence being ridiculously thick (50cm x_x). The ceilings are comprised of light panels which usually default to white but can be made whatever colour whoever has access to change the main light wants.

As I did it cheaply with the checkerboard texture and a possibly unnecessary displacement node I ended up having to do a variant for each room type so the pattern looked somewhat sensible.

The doors have been replaced with some really nice ones from the Archipack add-on.

Turned out it wasn't too much more effort to resize them and wedge them in as they're very sensibly set up. They also have some lovely sets of stairs. I only needed this straight one and knocked off the rail on the wall side. I'll probably keep the remaining rail as is as it's a nice looking one and I don't know what else to do with it at this stage. The doors to the utility rooms are the same as the internal doors, I just edited them to remove the decorative bits and make them more...utilitarian. A bevel modifier was added to the bathroom glass blocks

I think I have all the fixed structures that are likely to be in the bathrooms and utility rooms. The kitchens will also have the same layouts.

In-universe all the different types of apartments (there's a few) were designed with the same layouts to expedite building as Acaedia was constructed during a time period of serious turmoil, and came under heavy attack before it was fully complete. I suppose it's quite possible in the times of peace that followed tenants could have completely gutted and remodelled their abodes as they saw fit but I'm not dealing with that unless I have to XD

The long boxy things are planter boxes. The bathtub always has water in it which is cycled through the planter boxes. The toilet has a little hand basin thing on top of the cistern which on flush clean water comes out from for washing of hands. The flush water goes into some magical purification box in the utility room that works scientific wonders to make the excrement safer and the safer water is then pumped through the planter boxes.

Toilet and bathroom plants are usually nice smelling and looking ornamental things.

The top utility room/drying area has the screen door mesh to allow air flow through. It's bulletproof weatherproof mesh so no worries about accidentally poking a hole and falling through.

Now the only really major issue I'm having is that I'm not convinced I'm going to be able to cleanly fit the entire suite into a circle and that's going to trigger some serious ocd.

This post also appears on my blog.

I think the only rooms that actually get seen in the first block are Zul'jinn's bedroom which Zip is standing in and the common areas which haven't been built yet but like that stops me

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | artbees

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Those 3D images look daunting to study. I gave up learning Blender when it was just the first parts of the tutorial. Maybe I'll comeback to it some other time. Just curious to know why you are studying Japanese or Chinese?

At least you were sensible enough to use a tutorial, I basically dove right in with my "how long does it take to make and manipulate a sphere" test and then it took me three goes with a few years in between each go before I actually started using it.

This part of the building process is pretty easy as it's literally just dropping and resizing cubes (everything but the doors and staircase that I took and modified from Archipack is a cube). I'm also making it in sections because this file is going to be my "master" file with absolutely everything in it and I have some idea of just linking appropriate parts out of it depending on the shot I need. So just see a bunch of cubes stuck together like Lego and it hopefully becomes less complicated :D

If you ever get back in to Blender and need help that I can provide I'm happy to nudge you along :)

I'm studying Chinese (it's Mandarin, I wanted Cantonese but near enough is good enough) because given where I'm from I should already know it but don't, and also I've been learning kung fu and back when it wasn't unusual for the classes to be me and the Chinese students Sifu would sometimes forget that I have a non-functional vocabulary and drop back into Cantonese XD (this problem occured much less frequently recently as there are more non-Chinese students now)

I was initially interested in Japanese because I used to watch a lot of anime and play a lot of jrpgs. I don't do much of the former or any of the latter these days but ended up finally picking it up when my middle child was trying out high school and picked Japanese as her language and I figured we could practise together. School didn't work out so she went back to homeschooling but got frustrated with Duolingo because she didn't want to learn the kanji and ragequit and I kept going.

I'm also doing Indonesian (wanted Malay but again near enough is good enough) for the same reason as I'm doing Chinese, French because I have a few characters that speak Cajun French, Portuguese because I have one character that speaks Brazilian Portuguese, and Spanish because there's a lot of Spanish posts in OCA x_x and also Sona (the conlang) on Memrise because it's the IAL for my head-universe

!ENGAGE 20

You would soon speak the language of the gods when that happens. I would likely ask you about Blender if I ever get to try it again and sit through some tutorials but I am seeing it in a distant future.

Have you entertained the idea of buying resources for your models or just use the free packs just to pick them apart and study the bits?

I did consider studying Mandarin for business reasons but since I got no practical use of it yet, I just stopped it months ago. Japanese remains a hobby I would sit on a few minutes each week but still dread the kanji each time.

I like your interest in learning these stuff. I just wish I had the same energy to pursue multiple goals while keeping my priorities intact.

If you don't understand something I say just tell me and I'll try to explain differently ;D Depending on what you want to learn Blender for it might be easier if you have a thing that you want to do with it and just dive into trying to do that thing rather than trying to learn first and do it later. Or that's how I learned anyway XD

Buying resources for models? Like models themselves or things like materials? For models it would depend on what I was making as I would need to decide pretty much per model whether it would be quicker to throw something together myself or go look for one that will fit. I have bought materials (mostly thinking here of a procedural eye shader that I now can't do without) I was struggling with and would do that again, though in some cases the material hasn't done what I want it to (thinking specifically of a cloth shader I got because I needed a particular stitching pattern and I couldn't figure out how to get it to happen though the problem could be the user in this case).

Sometimes you just have to prioritise :) If something you're doing is important to you and you want to dedicate more time to it, sometimes other things have to go even if you also enjoy them, you just have to figure out which ones you like best. I used to do a lot more things and now I don't XD

Trying to find a way to link some hobbies with other hobbies to make it a cohesive process but at the same time I know I'm just spreading myself too thin wanting to know a lot at the same time. For instance, I look at Blender and think, hmmm maybe I could sculpt some 3D models and then render it close to my ideal 2D to semi realism art then photoshop the image. I know I don't really have to bother with Blender but it gives me a motivation/excuse to learn it anyway.

I was referring to the models already done by other users. If you buy or source them for free but you already answered it well. Recently I have looked into entering cross stitch as a hobby then thinking my art could be made into a cross stitch pattern? My creative side likes to wander without focus and my logical side says no you can't do that, that's being unproductive you got to focus on one thing at a time. Damn.

Ahh well I've been drawing for a lot longer than I've been doing 3d and my 3d is just better than my 2d so in my case learning Blender was the best thing as while it was agonisingly painful to begin with, now I have base models which has made drawing quicker XD

And also because I'm automatically studying lighting and things when I'm doing anything it has also made my 2d a lot better. So sometimes if you can find things that are complementary you can then do a lot without doing a lot.

You don't have to be productive every waking moment. Art/creativity isn't a monogamous relationship, none of the media are going to care about how many other media you're seeing/using at the same time. Try everything XD You might be surprised where it leads you or how many of them might overlap :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

nice, I took a couple years of Japanese in college. I don't remember any of it. oh wait, maybe, anata wa on-na no hito des... or, tonkatsu des...

I got as far as "you" and I don't have the rest of those words XD

Like with anything else you tend to forget it if you don't have to use it XD I'm actually picking up the conlang I'm learning quickest out of all of them as there's whole conversations using it in my scripts.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

oh, my husband is working with 3D modeliing, and now we've bought 3D printer, and these skills are to the point very much now:)

Oh cool, what does he make? :D

My partner has wanted a 3d printer for ages, initially we didn't get one because youngest (who has adhd) was very likely to stick his fingers into where they shouldn't be and would have broken it and himself (he's a hell of a lot better now) and now we still don't have one because money keeps going elsewhere XD

And then I'd have to learn how to make models for 3d printing, currently the ones I make are good for animation but not for printing XD

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.