June ProgBlog #1: textual feeling

in #aer4 years ago

What do you mean that's reminding you of a song? XD

I've been bouncing between working on the sculpt to try to have something interesting and visual for the progblog because people in general seem to prefer pretty pictures (guess it's much easier to glance, upvote and keep scrolling than actually have to read? XD), but sadly there is still a metric boatload of work nobody is ever going to see or even realise exists to get done as well.

The screenshot above is the last 21 pages I have to transfer into the Drupal outliner that I brewed up specifically for that purpose. It was originally 200+ pages and is a sql file dumped from a mediawiki instance which helpfully added spaces after a lot of punctuation that shouldn't have had spaces around it (such as dashes and apostrophes), stripped out all carriage returns and converted everything to lower case. I'm not sure why it did that, probably something I did or didn't do when executing the mysqldump to file. I've had quite a bit of cleanup work to do and because I'm me I've also been rewriting sections as I go (sometimes almost completely so I don't even use the text chunk I copy/paste in) so it's been a slow ongoing process.

With so few left, I seem to have made the decision to try and get it done so I can add more notes and ideas to it (which is flitting about in my head waiting to be written down somewhere which I haven't been doing because I want to get down and fix what I've got before I add anything new in).

I've been utilising my usual when sick of something do something else that also needs doing so I've been bouncing between that and fixing Red's sculpt mesh, which currently means obsessing over getting shapes right and making sure things are smooth. See the difference between where I've worked and where I haven't?

Hopefully the data entry will be done by tonight or tomorrow and it will be one less gi-huge-ic (coined by my youngest) thing to do.

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | artbees

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

See the difference between where I've worked and where I haven't?

Hmm, the pinkie? xD

No idea what Drupal is even after checking the link. mediawiki I'm guessing something to do with wikipedia? mysqldump not going to even guess :P

XD

I haven't worked on the pinkie yet. Anywhere lumpy needs work, got my brush settings right now :)

Drupal is a content management system, basically a quicker way of getting a website up and running without having to know how to code everything from scratch yourself (which is great for me as I hate database and not that fond of php so this way I could figure out how to build sites, hack what I need and do front end stuff which I'm actually half-decent at). My blog (not the hive one) runs on it and I used it to build all the websites I made when I had my webdev business.

I think (but am not sure) that Wikipedia is built on Mediawiki. Mediawiki is a popular wiki system (not the only one but seemed to be the most popular one when I thought that was what I needed for my notes, turned out I needed something slightly more complicated than a wiki, I do miss the ability to pre-emptively link to things that haven't been made yet though XD)

Also as long as you keep everything (preferably organized) there might always be a chance in the future to shine a new light on it and get some new views/audience :)

It's about as organised as I'm going to get it now (I finished the data transfer a couple of nights ago yay xD). There's a LOT of stories in there so once I'm done with this arc I'll have plenty to keep me busy forever.

I really need some life-extending/age curing technology so I'll be able to get all this done, even if I do somehow manage to make money from it enough to be able to work on it full time XD

I haven't worked on the pinkie yet.

That's what I meant xD Otherwise it's a magician's secret pocket finger.
And thank you for explaining it for me :D
I'm unfortunately unorganized, I wonder if it takes me longer to find something than just make a new art/post.

Good luck on extending life and please share any secrets xD

More hard work I see @ryivhnn and complicated beyond my understanding anway, but have fun doing more and more.

The top stuff is just an outline of all the stories I've found in the universe so far written as summarised events roughly sorted by date :) (some with more precise dates than others)

The bottom stuff is just sculpting, I reckon you'd be pretty good at it once you got the hang of navigating in 3d space that's actually 2d :)

I don't know anything about computer art, but clearly you do. Is this something you do for a job or for fun? I suppose, having said that, it could be both at the same time.

Mostly for fun. I would love to make money with it but that's a thing I'm letting happen if it will happen :)

Oh that's specifically my animation project, I didn't get around to trying to get an industry job :)

Sometimes doing things for fun can become lost these days. We are so focused externally, on work, social aspects, financial and other matters, especially now with the virus. I think finding something we like to do for fun can be very valuable in a person's life be it computer graphics, gardening, drawing, hiking or any of the many other things a person could do. Of course, it would be nice to combine it with work to also get paid, but I think not many do so.

Thank you for responding, I appreciate it.

At this stage a lot of people are probably feeling a lot of economic pressure so there probably isn't a lot of time for fun :<

And in general before this silliness started I think some people were actually bragging about how busy and exhausted they are like it was proof that they worked hard and therefore better than all those other lazy slobs who like to enjoy themselves? o_O I don't know, people are strange XD

No worries, don't people usually respond? o_O

I like how you keep it real and I agree with you. People are funny creatures mostly. Sometimes I wonder how we have survived over the last 45,000 years since Sapiens eradicated the Neanderthal using their newfound cognitive thought.

Some respond, some don't. I'll be honest though, until now I haven't made many attempts to reach out. This is changing now, just because.

We should be somewhat social on a social networky thing right :)

Comment on all the things :D and if they're routinely not answering just stop commenting them :)

And don't burn out ;D

Hmm, yes I think you're on to something here. Being...social on a social network...Hmm, seems radical in nature, but also rather logical.

Yes, I am quite black and white when it comes to the engagement/commenting thing and don't generally waste a lot of time commenting to people who don't comment back. This happens to be my alt account and my other votes with a lot of HP, and I've very active there so...I guess it's interesting to see who talks to the little people (accounts) like this one and who only talks (responds) to the larger ones as they see some benefit there and none here. It's an interesting experiment I'm running to be honest, and I've learned many things.

So I figure this is the script for your animation and you want to import it into Blender as a dope sheet.
I'm sure you are somewhat upset that after all your work that the new Blender has some new tools for hair and sculpting that would have saved you lots of time.

this is the script for your animation and you want to import it into Blender as a dope sheet.

How do your dope sheets work? O_O mine is a bunch of dots.

Screenshot_20200607_101437.png

I also selected everything so it would look more interesting, normally only have multiple items selected if I need to make sure they're moving at the same time XD

And nope this is just outline of various events (the scripts are much more fleshed out, their events are also summarised in the outline/timeline/thing). There were 200+ pages because I basically got a bit carried away when I went back in time to find out why some characters were acting in a particular way and found more and ended up with 2000 odd years of history.

Didn't lose any time as I bought 3dC ages ago for sculpting, retopo and painting. I'll be moving the sculpting to Blender now that it's so much better, but the other two still have a way to go before I'll find them usable (they are actually usable right now to some value of usable, I just hate how they work). And I've only just started looking at physics now so no time lost there either XD

This really sounds like a massive project and all by one person homeschooling children, How in Gods name do you do it?
I did some animation projects years ago and had to translate all my dialogue into a dope sheets for timing, It was very difficult and a big collection of phonemes (I think that's the word) . The process being so long I got scared away from pursuing this career.

Usually at night but now that the older two are teenagers that's suddenly when they want to have really in-depth conversations with me xD but yeh that's the major reason it progresses so incredibly slowly.

I have played with shapekey phonemes briefly, think if I can be bothered making any these days (currently I can't but may change my mind down the line XD) I'd use poses as rigify's face rig is pretty good.

I haven't otherwise done a lot with dialogue yet, so far only had to do some timing for a song in a project that I helped my sister with. She does 2d anim (as a hobby) and had a project where the camera was in first person mode and she was unsure how to move the scene around in a slightly complicated shot so I offered to block it for her, and literally used blocks which she then drew over the top of (except for the block coming down the stairs with the camera attached, I just needed to know how tall the first person character was and you otherwise never see anything except his arms). Anyway I used markers to work the timing out, maybe that's something like what you're talking about?

Screenshot_20200608_110006.png

I don't know if you can see them at the bottom of the top left panel? XD

Anyway I should probably also make it clear that I have never worked in industry and I have no idea how things are supposed to be done or even what things are called half the time, everything I know how to do is based on when I needed/wanted to do something and I would bumble around til I figured it out or if I couldn't figure it out then I would scour the internet and then half the time do my own thing anyway with a slightly better idea after having read a chunk of internet about it, so me knowing exactly what you're talking about and not realising it or having no idea what you're talking about is equally likely :)

Funny. When I was trying my hand at animation it was still using Cell painting by hand, and everything else by hand really. Also did some claymation. Back then I could see computers coming in and making everything so much easier and in some ways much more complex. Now my interest in Blender is much more for doing woodworking designs and film. Have not had that much time to play with it but see that the animation possibilities are amazing and it could soon be industry standard with all the development going on.

Closest I've done to the hand drawing thing is Flash animation which is what I started off doing. Bloody hard work, especially if like me you suck at drawing. 3d is much easier, it's just the building that's hard XD

I did stop motion at uni in the first year of the Multimedia course I did. Another thing that was a lot of hard work x_x especially as we spent all of one class on it (I was in the guinea pig group for that course and they crammed way too much into it).

The animation possibilities have been amazing for a while, and things keep getting better and easier every version :) Well easier once you work out where everything is between versions XD

I'm not reading 21 pages... I'm going to bed instead.

A much more sensible option that I should have taken but couldn't sleep as there were hostile mobs close by XD

There was a party close by that sounded like it was descending into a massive brawl a couple of times so I monitored it as I was worried about the elderly neighbours closer to the house in question, everything ended well

Glad it all ended well. Problem is now you have to catch up on sleep.

About that >_>

Ecks your a machine - good things come to those who don't sleep and work too much :)

A very run down machine today then, I'm thoroughly exhausted (moving furniture all day yesterday and had more running around today on top of cleanup which is nowhere near done) and I have to at least attempt to get the progblog done tonight XD

I hope so, as the other options seem to be burnout and illness and possibly death though I don't think I'm that bad yet x_x

..Ease back on the throttle haha (too much to do and too little time :))

Don't have time for that XD

On the one hand I do need to pace better as usually the speeds I move lead to burnout, on the other ain't nobody got time for dat XD

WOW. this must be a hard job. I guess that much detail would bore me so much. I appreciate you!

Thanks ^_^ Only parts of it are hard, sometimes because I don't like doing it and sometimes because I don't know how to do it XD This part is easy, just takes a long time because I'm too fussy ^_^;

👋 Hi @ryivhnn, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14500 replies. Your next target is to reach 15000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Also as long as you keep everything (preferably organized) there might always be a chance in the future to shine a new light on it and get some new views/audience :)