You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Children of Sinyea

in #africa6 years ago

Nice photographs! Soon you'll be giving @thomasjmitchell a run for his Steem money.

Interesting perspective in the photos of Mah-Beh (where she's angled) and of DJ (where only part of his face is in view). In general, I am not this advanced at photography... I obsess over making sure to fit everything in the picture, when perhaps I should be more cavalier and eschew the traditional fit and perspective. What do you think?

Sort:  

Sometimes the more you leave out the more powerful the photo.

Thanks Dan! One can only hope.

I think you worded it well - my goal is to "eschew the traditional". In the omnipresence of phones with capable cameras, I see too many images that seem to be collages of each other. For example, those who visit the Taj Mahal will almost surely take the straight on shot, perhaps having their loved ones stand centrally. Why not just photoshop the family into an already existing professional photo? Along this logic many of my photos are formed. But I believe other lines of thought, such as yours of fitting all the information within the bounds of a photo to most fully capture a moment, are equally valid. Be intentional and purposeful with your photography and there are no mistakes.

Be intentional and purposeful with your photography and there are no mistakes

Brilliant!

I will be going to the #steemphilly meetup tonight organized by @hypnopreneur. I hope to share this important photographic insight with the other attendees including @trang.