How Young Are You?

in #aging7 months ago

Usually people ask each other "How old are you?"

When I am feeling tired and worn out I often catch myself saying "I am old." out lout, which affirms to myself and the universe outside myself that indeed, I am old.

It's a bad habit that I would like to break.

If I want to live a longer / healthier / happier life I think that I have to start thinking younger. Soon I will be on my 52 trip around the sun on this marvellous ride we call planet earth. Might be half my life... but it might be only 1/10!?! Who knows what technology is just around the corner that will extend human longevity.

For now I want to talk about the placebo effect. Simply put, if a patient is given a medicine that is said by some authority to cure him, it will work just as well if it's a sugar pill (the placebo) or if it's the real medicine.

Is the placebo effect real both because (a) the body is miraculous at curing it's self, and (b) modern medicine is generally useless? Could be.

34882270_ml.jpg

Maybe just the habit of acting young and thinking you're young, can trick the body into being more young?

If you train your mind to insert the phrase "I'm young" into every relevant situation, then maybe reality will respond with a more youthful you.

"How young am I?"

Biologically I feel about 37 today. Chronologically? It matters not. Let's fucking get out there Boys! We've got the world to win!