You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's the end of the world as we know it. - My AI Rant

in #ailast year

I kind of have the same attitude towards AI art like I have towards DAZ. It will make a relentless flood of extremely boring and mediocre stuff because it's nice and easy to use, and some people will be able to do some amazing things with it. And I'll be the loser being left behind and ignoring it all as while I can see a lot that can be done with it and it does look like an incrtedibly useful tool, it's not one I personally have a use for.

I would most likely take the "compliment" (of one of your paintings looking like it was done by AI) as a sign of ignorance, which may have been coded in from when I saw a discussion on the dA forums (a hundred million years ago when I used to actually pay attention to more of dA than my inbox/message centre) where someone in all seriousness claimed that "no human would be able to make anything that good" on the models that are available in DAZ (there was dead silence when someone else pointed out that humans made the models that are available in DAZ).

Where AI will be cool is in some aspects what it's doing already (coming up with stuff that may not have occurred to a human because we're all limited/biased by our own sensibilities/preferences) and when it starts being able to learn and develop its own style (then there will be some actual AI artists and the current "AI artists" will probably have to rename themselves to AI directors or something, assuming the AI is willing to take direction at that point and then is it still artificial? That might need a rename too XD)