Artificial Intelligence – Is Skynet already here?

in #aiartlast year

I am always fascinated by new technology and I like to envision how technologies may transform, disrupt and evolve our world. It’s the reason why I have been so enamoured by Crypto in recent years and before that I was one of the early adopters of the Internet (which old news now). I’ve been aware for a while that Artificial Intelligence technology has been emerging as a major advancement for the human race over the last several decades and doing a bit of a Deep Dive into it has been on my TODO list for a while now….well I’ve finally had some time to have a bit of a look.


terminator1.png

My curiosity about AI flared pretty hard on my radar when the issue of AI generated content blew up on HIVE a few months back and a lot of my alt-news channels had started talking about the breakthrough ChatGPT and how it might be used. I was fortunate to come across one of our great witnesses from Australia here on HIVE @ausbitbank who has set up a Discord with a few of these AI bots in a bit of a sandpit play area for people to check out, so that’s exactly what I did. I started playing and chatting with the various bots to see what they were like and I have to admit I was pretty shocked at just how advanced they have become. The Art bot still blows my mind with just how quickly it can “Dream Up” and render a high quality original picture. I have used it to generate ALL of the pictures on this post.


terminatorartist2.png

When I started to interact with the chat bots, however, my understanding of the technology really evolved. I tried to apply a bit of critical thought and have a bit of an argument with them about some of the issues causing such widespread cognitive dissonance across our broader society because I figured that logic and rationality were things that an AI would likely understand. The first thing that I learnt is that they are so advanced that it is possible to have a full intellectual debate with them, and they actually do make sense. Secondly, I believe there is some bias built into these things which is likely a result of the information sources they’ve been built upon and/or been told to prioritize. Thirdly, while they might be able to pretend and mimic human emotions it is very obvious to me that these are totally absent. They can very effectively provide two sides to a debate and even absolve themselves from having an “opinion” on either side but for example, on a topic such as whether it is ethical to employ organ harvesting on criminals for the “Greater Good” of society – they could make a case that it was a good thing.


terminatorsurgeon.png

So do I think the developments in AI technology are dangerous? Fuck yes. The way technology is usually rolled out, the rank and file plebs like me only get to see the older tech so I am sure that the military and corporations have even more advanced AI then we are seeing. Couple this technology with a psychotic elite ruling class that is leading us on a path of corporate fascism and, yes, I think that Skynet (or worse) is probably already here. That’s not to say I think that AI is bad, it’s probably a very useful and powerful advancement that could help humanity greatly….I just think that in the wrong hands it is likely to become our worst nightmare so we better get on top of this technology sooner rather than later.

Sort:  

I think that Skynet is already here as when a technology hits the market, be sure it is hard and widely used somewhere and that's probably in the military sector. While we are happy about being helped with little things in our daily lives or at work, the big picture is that the danger is growing and another species is evolving above the human kind. While we might not see the effects in our lives, for sure the next generations will have different challenges and fights to face.

For sure. The Transhumanist movement is a real concern. They will be loving these advancements....

First of all, it was created by us, humans, on the model of our own neural networks. Yes, AI is seemingly much faster, but if it had to control as many biological processes as our own intelligence, it would not necessarily be so fast. Besides, has anyone wondered if we humans are also artificial intelligence?

I often do think exactly that. I don't like the "Artificial" tag at all, but it's what people refer to it now - I'm sure it will change in time. To me it's more like Biological Intelligence vs Machine Intelligence.

Did you see there was a news story the other day where they created an AI and gave it the mission to destroy humanity? Like how dumb can you be? It was called ChaosGPT. You can check it out more info here:

https://futurism.com/ai-destroying-humanity-new-tactic

Yes, I have been reading about ChaosGPT too. People need to be really careful with this sort of stuff. Could easily start out as shits and giggles, but turn nasty in a real hurry.

That's exactly what I was thinking. Given all the fiction that has been written in the past about this very scenario, why would you want to tempt fate?

Technology is growing rapidly, and to be honest, we are slow and unable to cope with it. I have seen many people who have used the technology to create AI-based videos, images, songs, and writings, but some people like me are still sitting and thinking about how they can do it. We should speed up to catch up on what is happening in this world.

I agree, society needs to get on top of it quickly, However we are already behind the curve and failing ever further behind in being able to stay ahead of this tech. I fear it is going the road of being used for too many nefarious reasons already.

image.png

The organ harvesting sounds just wrong to me.. yea, those AI things, the internet thingy, all amazing and very scary tech..

Technology is getting more and more advanced daily…….

Hello from Cuba. I teach here a subject that engages with the STS field. So I'm very good with your approach to the selected topic, as you pointed out how each technology is permeated with human inputs that move them on one direction or another (specifically here in terms of sources).

Then, I'd like to said that my experience with these latest developments around IA like ChatGPT have not been so sound as the people standard reaction suggests. Maybe I was somehow hard with the prompts or the topics, but I received a lot of errors in the answers. Thanks for sharing your take and best regards from the Island.

Thirdly, while they might be able to pretend and mimic human emotions it is very obvious to me that these are totally absent

There are some YouTube videos that will make you have second thoughts on that. Anyways, we are only beginning to scratch the surface!

Always happy to be proven wrong because I often am and this AI deep dive still pretty new to me.

Link me up and I'll take a look?

I don't have a video handy now, but next time I'll stumble one I'll throw it here. Probably tomorrow at work, where I kill time on YouTube 🤭😂

Going to be interesting to see the changes that come about from AI.

Do you think that some day, someone will come up with an AI Product, that has a Wild Imagination...???

Also, when you chat with ChatGPT, you'll feel like you are chatting with a human being. The kind of response they give shows how advanced they are. There is no doubt that the are helpful but they make humans less creative when they begin to do everything for us...

The way we see that within the last few years the technology has progressed a lot and made human life a lot easier now the way Chat GPT has come. And the way we're seeing it will help a lot those who are students and those who have seen how much it's paid off, now the bear market is moving.

Technology is fast growing in the world we live in as stuffs like this would help reduce the effort of humans to really put in their best in what they can do. Though, the introduction of AI has it positive side likewise it also has it negative side and with this I believe the world is still yet to witness more.

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

Congratulations @buggedout! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @buggedout! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

So do I think the developments in AI technology are dangerous? Fuck yes.

Agree with it. But at the same time we can't deny the great contribution of tech in our life. There will be always two words, one is USE and the other will be Misuse and its up to we human that how we consider tech. Tech for making our life easy but we are losing the genuineness and originality and depending on artificial intelligence like we are disable. I like tech and it's contribution changed many lives in a positive way but I don't like to be depend on tech like a disable. I appreciate being original and love original contents here in hive.