Think Before You Write: WHY You Blog is More Important Than WHAT

in #aimforexcellence7 years ago (edited)

You might want to step back for a second before hitting that "Post" button on your next article... If you've ever thought to yourself; "If I write a popular topic that I see on the trending tab, I'll get a bunch of rewards for sure" or "Man, maybe I should write about Cryptocurrency and ride the hype", you need to back the truck up. It's not the "popular topics" that will improve your posts and articles, getting you rewards and followers, but the mind behind them. Proof of brain is YOU.


work-in-house-1232248-1280x960.jpg
Source



This guide covers who you are as an author,
and a few things to consider as you write your blogs!


The focus should be placed back to the writers on Steemit. The ongoing goal is to provide unique, engaging, and high-quality content for your readers! While you may think that you need to choose a golden subject to succeed, two people could write on the same topic, and one could end up being crap, while the other hits "Trending". The variable is not the topic, but more about the writer themselves, and the type of experiences and knowledge they bring with them.



mirror-on-wall-1413751-1279x852.jpgSource

Be True To Your Interests!

The most important thing that many guides on Steemit writing say is "to be yourself", and they aren't wrong. However, if something you really like just so happens to also be a popular topic, then by all means, bring it to the table. I do art, tutorials, and even food posts, because these are things I actually like. I think it's a dumb idea to stop writing what you love because it's not the consensus. Censoring yourself out because a topic is too popular is self-sabotaging in the long run. If you want to niche that's perfectly fine, just as there are authors who choose to write on a variety of things. An important thought is to ask yourself;



If there were absolutely no rewards at all, what would I be writing about?
Because these are the things that matter.


You could always try to fake it, but it won't last. Those "crypto writers" have been heavily invested, have experience, and watch the markets daily, on top of other activities. Unless the information you can provide is on this level, you should be posting the things you actually know! If you feel like you want to write on a new topic, then do your best to learn more about it beforehand! There's no such thing as too much research, and everyone starts somewhere.



the-gift-1412882-1279x850.jpgSource

What You Contribute

It's fine and dandy if you are writing about a topic you love with all your heart, but are you trying to provide valuable information that isn't already available in like 100 other blogs? Before submitting your article, ask yourself if your post does these things

  • Provides information not readily available by just "Google Searching"
  • Teaches the reader something useful about the topic or yourself that isn't "common knowledge"
  • Isn't about the one article you just read, and are trying to paraphrase for quick profit
  • Is this post going to help anybody?

When I look at value, a good indicator is application. If I can use the knowledge from a post in my everyday life, or will be necessary in a sticky situation, I'll think it was a good article. The goal is to make the information useful to the person who reads it. The adage "time is money," is true here too. Aim to make something that is worth reading!



coaster-pass-1422400.jpg
Source

Enthusiasm

Are you exceptionally excited about what you just wrote, and feel like the words you typed out just exude brilliance all over your keyboard? If not, revisit and revise! Not every post will be a masterpiece, but if you feel like what you are writing about is a chore, you chose the wrong topic! Although satire and orgasms can be seen as faking zeal, you can write about anything you want. However, if you don't have genuine enthusiasm for it, it's gonna show. Your readers will look at your article and think; "Well s#^%, if they aren't even excited about it, then why should I be?"



Do you really care about what you have just written?

  • Did I have fun writing this?
  • Did I express something that I know about, that I want others to know too?
  • Does this post open up discussion, or is it not something "to talk about"?

Every article should be the most exciting thing you've come up with, or at least close. It doesn't matter if you think that others won't find it super great, if you don't like what you wrote it's like trying to sell a product you don't believe in. You want to be so ecstatic, that others will feel like they need to look into this thing you are advocating, to understand where you are coming from! When the enthusiasm is real, you will feel a stronger bond to your readers. This is what it means to promote and sell yourself; sell that vision! Which brings me to my next topic.



reach-1178805-1279x1923.jpg
Source

Holding Up To The Vision

Is the article that you wanted to write, the same as the one you are about to post? I got into an interesting conversation recently where we marveled at the type of accomplishment an artist faces, when what they saw in their head, turns out to match what they put down on the paper or canvas. This isn't easy to do. One goal that expression seems to have, is that the creator always wants to materialize their thoughts and expressions as close as they can to what they see inside their "mind's eye". With having the enthusiasm present in your writing, a good step to shoot for is to bring your readers on an adventure, taking them out of the audience, and sticking them by your side.



I'll put you so deep in my shoes, that if I run- you'll sweat.



checkmate-chess-1181556-1279x852.jpg
Source

Take the Lead

Remember! On Steemit, value is relative. If there is something that you know or like that doesn't seem too popular, one really good post about it, could make way for a new tag movement, or suddenly get everyone to start writing the same topic as you. It can be scary trying to tread new waters, but it can also be a new experience allowing you to reach further out of your comfort zone, and the readers that inhabit these areas!

Feel free to use the tags #aimforexcellence and #stopshitposts because that is exactly what this article is about, everyone has a chance to show themselves to others and not just copy the next guy. If you are only trying to write to attract one type of reader, that is all you will ever get.


Expand your knowledge and yourself, and your followers are sure to expand with it!

BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png

Sort:  

Really good tips, not just for Steemit, but for writing in general. :) I have followed you, and will resteem this post a bit later, so it gets another 'airing'. :)

@shello Clearly lots of thought went into this post. And it does provide a perfect explanation on why I keep switching the subject. Little while ago I wondered what my followers (Not that I have many) are thinking about me posting Meme, Travelblogs and random blogs. Now I know it is not the topic but the content and how you present it. Take this post for example, If I wanted to read on how to blog I would get load ton of info on the mighty internet, but this particular one was I can relate to.

I need to put a lot more into my writing.

Thanks for the motivation. Keep rocking

WOW! I just kept reading till the end.
Looking for a popular topic and writing about it won't take you anywhere in the long run, if you're not interested. Instead, write something that you're passionate about. That makes you happy. Be yourself.

Even if many people write about the same thing you're writing. You can make a difference because it's your voice, your experience.

There's always someone who is faster than you, smarter than you, but no one will ever be the unique blend of YOU. You're unique and that's your power. Thank you so much Shery for sharing this. See you around! @shello

Thank you for such a thoughtful comment @rezoanulvibes,

I can promise you that if all of your comments are this good, you will have no trouble making a lot of friends and improving yourself on Steemit! Reading all the way through on posts you like and leaving good feedback means that you appreciate the work being put forth, and others will appreciate you for it.

"Your voice, your experience."

I couldn't have said it better myself. Thank you again for dropping by, and have yourself a wonderful day!

Love,
shello

I really did like your post thank you so much for sharing your steemit knowledge with us, I agree with all you are saying.

Thank you for the love @bigbear, Steemit has shown me more than anything else, that what we see first is only the tip of understanding. The love is real

Thank you,
shello

Yes. Yes. Yes. 🙌

I don’t resteem often, but this one is definitely worth it. 👌🙏💓

Yay! Thank you very much @rok-sivante 😀♪♡

Thank you for the caring and understanding that you've shown me. From what know I now, there's a lot to learn from veteran Steemians lile yourself :3

Stay classy,
shello

This is one of my favs to pass on, if you’re looking to learn...

The Dirty Dozen: My Top 12 Most HIGHLY Recommended Posts For Steemit Noobs To Accelerate Your Success...

;-)

Thank you for throwing down the protips, this is going to be some pretty good brainfood :3 Some people are genuinely excited to learn new things, and I truly appreciate all the help and guidance, you've given me. You're right- pay it forward!

Right, wrong... it’s all contextual.

Though, it’s an approach that reaps wonderful rewards for many... :-)

I love the idea behind, "if others win, I win too!" :D

Be passionate about what you write about; and I agree wholeheartedly with regards to the research. Take your readers on a journey.

Wonderful article, thank you. :)

Thank you so much @ravenuis!

We all have long journeys to look forward to, and we will get there by first looking in!

With love,
shello

You got some great advice but the most important of All is BE YOURself und UNIQUE!
Yours @mammasitta

I wouldn't be anybody else, thank you so much for dropping in @mammasitta! C:

Love,
shello

Wow!!!

@tojukaka, I will accept your compliment as speechless xD

Nice! I usually write the for the fun of writing. Why do I write? I write because I enjoy the flow of thoughts from mind to post. Upvoted for good luck! :)

Thanks for stopping in @angusleung100!

It always good to have a reminder that although money is cool, you should have other motivations like something you want to share or do c: I write because I think doing so helps others, and at the very least, if I ever forget something- I have some super cool reminders.

Thanks for the luck :D
<3 shello

This is a very well written piece. I have seen so many talented writers here just get cents from their stories and their poems and some get 20 dollars or more for a selfie that is not even creative.
What people will like is relative to their interests and I do write things that I like and passionate about or depressed about.

We need more unique posts. The last thing I would want this is to become an Instagram where only pictures get votes.

I remember that person again in one of the groups I was before. He was bragging that he would literally do a shitpost and he would earn more than some of the planktons in our group because he has so many followers. Right there and then I left the group and unfollowed the wanker. Too much negativity and ego on that group.

"that is not even creative."

I lol'd pretty hard @maverickinvictus thanks for that.

It is true that people sometimes don't love the post, but the Steemian behind it. Some people only like photography, and some selfies and other things. It's a good feeling to write what you care about, than to follow a gimmick and trying to make it work, or worse, wonder why it isn't.

Keep posting what you like, I enjoy seeing variety as well. Why does this guy not try to help others instead of boasting his greatness? He sounds lame lol, I also think you made a great call leaving that group.

There are way kinder and more supportive peeps in the steemisphere! ♡

With love,
shello

Lol true he sounds and writes lame 😂 He called it tough love and that planktons like us should aspire to be like him.
I'd rather not and just March to my own beat follow people that I like reading and commenting on.

Yes you!

I'm still a plankton, and it beats having someone demean the things I care about, always comment and read things you like! xD Tough love, needs to have love to work tho...

#stopshitposts I love it.

Trying to get proactive in here :D

Well done @shello... Bravo!!
This is an excellent write-up.
Your explanations are truly first class.
Okay, enough congratulations but I just really love what you've done and how well you've carried the message across :):)
Promoted.

Thank you so much @therneau!

I feel that there should be more positive eduaction present on recent days for Steemit to help out all the growing new users~

gasps you cared enough to burn some of your precious SBDs on promoting this? Thank you so much, that's super kind of you! C: Hopefully more people can see the message!☆

♡shello

Agreed. The recent events have all been filled with negativity so a good positive injection is most welcome :):) I know the post promotion doesn't add as much value currency wise like one of the voting bots would however I feel it's important to give back to the platform that affords us all the opportunity in the first place. I'm busy working on some changes that I believe will receive support from the right people. I'll keep you posted if you'd like. Keep up the great work!

Thank you for sharing this..

Thanks for he posting tips

No problem!

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Great post @shello. I enjoyed reading it. I think I'm posting pretty quality stuff on my blog, but my topic (haiku) isn't all that exciting to most people, so they don't get much attention. Oh well. I enjoy the research and writing that goes into them so I'm happy. I like your tag suggestions.