AIR-CLINIC: The Dangers of Self Medication

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Good morning sister, greeted my brother as he steps out of the living room. I had already woken up and going about my usual chores before Joe as he is fondly called joined me in the kitchen. We were getting ready to join mum at the shop, since it was a Saturday.

As I continued with breakfast I was preparing, I noticed Joe was unusually quiet, rubbing his eyes. I asked what was wrong and he said his eyes have been very itchy and watery too. I managed to get him to stop rubbing his eyes so uncontrollably, and there it was!! A whitish nylon-like stuff had covered the pupil of his right eye.

Before that day, Joe complained about his eyes being itchy and mum had promised they would visit a doctor for tests and prescriptions also. Unknown to us, he had already used an eye drop(Elisca), before complaining. The eye drop used was already three weeks old after opening and as such unsafe for use. But that stuff has already covered his eyes, and thank God it was discovered in time.

Now, what am I driving at? It is self-medication. Simply put, self medication is the use of any substance for treatment without a doctor's prescription or supervision. One is not aware of the benefits and risks associated with the use of a particular drug.
Many of us think we can use a particular drug because it worked for another. Do not forget our body systems are not the same. This was the case for Joe in the story above
.

Drugs indeed cure ailments but when mishandled can be poisonous to our health.

Keep all drugs out of the reach of children.

Hats off to all the pharmacists in the world.

(296 words).

DQmPzv8G9MXbajgFo8RniS3av1ag4EZg8ZPxHS3pwe7hmcy_1680x8400.png

#Beinformedtoday
#Stayhealthy
#Consultapharmacist

So guys, this piece was inspired by air-clinic which I'm a part of. You want to join us for more amazing features log in to this link 👇and follow us... https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Nice one gurl

Thanks darling

This is the best I've ever seen. @originalworks @good-karma

Thanks dear